Reviews

Clear TV Antenna Reviews: Does it Really Work? (Updated Feb. 2015)

Clear TV Antenna Reviews: Does it Really Work? (Updated Feb. 2015)

Clear TV is an HDTV digital antenna, advertised as a way to receive broadcast television channels for free. We were one of the first to review the product back in 2013, and we offer updated observations for 2015.

Sponsored links

About Clear TV

Clear TV is a standard television antenna which allows you to watch HDTV over-the-air broadcast channels in your area. The advertising vaguely implies that you may be able to replace your cable television with this product, which many consumers have found to be inaccurate.

Although cleartv.com has been registered since 1997, a search of the Internet Archive reveals that this particular domain didn’t sell this product until 2013. BuyClearTV.com was used in advertising in mid-2013. That domain was registered in August 2012, and now forwards to the primary domain.

Clear TV is marketed by Tristar Products, Inc., which also markets such products as Genie Bra, Aqua Rug, Bandaloom, Power Juicer, and many others.

In 2014, Clear TV began advertising heavily on Spanish-language television as “Clear TV Antena Digital.” The website compracleartv.com is advertised on channels such as Univision. That website was registered in December 2012.

How much does Clear TV cost?

If you purchase Clear TV from the official website, it costs $19.95 plus $7.99 processing & handling for a total of $27.94.

You can add a second “free” antenna to the offers above, which will add another $7.99 processing and handling. Delivery takes 3 to 4 weeks and there is a 60-day money-back guarantee, minus processing and handling.

In Stores

Clear TV is readily available in stores, typically in the As Seen on TV section. The photo below shows the product for sale at an As Seen on TV store in Las Vegas. It was available for $17.99 in April 2014. Other stores such as Walmart and Kmart offer Clear TV for sale. The price has been seen as low as $14.99.

clear-tv-stores

Clear TV is now available in stores.

Below is a screenshot of the original Clear TV website, taken in June 2013.

Clear TV

Early 2014 Advertising

In early 2014, Clear TV began advertising with celebrity spokesman John Amos. The claims made in earlier advertising has remained intact, with slightly different wording:

All you have to do is plug in Clear TV and scan to instantly receive the top-rated network shows, local news, weather, sporting events, and more all for free. Clear TV’s technology lets you bypass cable and satellite and enjoy crystal clear local and national network programming.

Below is the revamped Clear TV website, with celebrity spokesman John Amos, as seen in March 2014.

cleartv2014

This is the 2014 television commercial for Clear TV, uploaded to YouTube in late March 2014.

Mid-2014 Minus-Amos

John Amos disappeared from the Clear TV website sometime in mid-2014, and it is unclear why he was no longer featured as the celebrity spokesman. By late 2014, the website did not feature Amos or the original unknown spokesman, as seen in the screenshot below. This is how the website appears as of February 2015.

clear tv website nov 2014

Cleartv.com, as seen in November 2014.

Our Clear TV Review

In mid-2013, we tried out a Clear TV antenna – which was a new product at the time – alongside a standard set of rabbit ears. We found that the Clear TV antenna does work in receiving broadcast signals, but there isn’t anything particularly special about it versus regular – and cheaper – antennas. It is merely a standard television antenna which we found to be no better than a 20-year old set of rabbit ears we dug out to compare it against.

We tested our unit out in the greater Las Vegas Valley, and there are a wealth of broadcast channels in this area. In our tests, the picture looked crisp – perhaps better than the local (Cox) cable signal, which is compressed – and the audio was clear. The 20-year old rabbit ears we also tested looked and sounded just as crisp as the Clear TV antenna.

Sponsored Links

Most old antennas will still work with HD broadcast channels, and newer TV’s are already equipped to receive digital channels. If you have an old TV, however, you may need an analog-to-digital converter box.

If you’re within about 25 miles from broadcast antennas, the difference in quality between various television antennas will be negligible. It is only when you are at great distances from the broadcast towers that the type of antenna and placement will become important for quality of signal. Placement of the antenna can also affect the quality of the reception, with an exterior wall or window providing optimal performance.

AntennaWeb offers a useful calculator which will show you the types of antennas you may need in your area. See their color coded antenna types to determine which is right for you.

Clear TV also offers an amplifier, which we did not test out. It is said to increase weak or intermittent signals. The size of the product is 7.75″ by 7.75″. The product can be mounted using enclosed suction cups, or stood on a base near the television.

What channels can I get with Clear TV?

Because Clear TV is just an antenna, you can only pick up whatever channels are being broadcast in your area.

This claim on the Clear TV website is misleading.

The wording of this claim on the Clear TV website has changed several times since 2013.

Clear TV’s website, however, originally claimed: “Receive ‘hundreds’ of crystal clear digital and HD shows for FREE.” Note that they put quotation marks around the word “hundreds.”

The use of the word “hundreds” was changed by late 2014. The website then reads, “…with the opportunity to receive hundreds of crystal clear digital and HD shows.”

By February 2015, the word “hundreds” had been removed altogether, now reading, “Receive broadcast crystal clear digital and HD shows.”

Check the AntennaWeb link above for available channels in your area.

Clear TV Television commercial

Below is the 2013 version of the Clear TV television commercial.

Clear TV ad

This ad for Clear TV ran in heavy rotation on Facebook for months.

Are you tired of paying cable and satellite companies just to watch your favorite broadcast network shows? Why spend hundreds of dollars per year for cable and satellite only channels when you can watch broadcast television for free with the Clear TV HD digital antenna. All you have to do is plug in Clear TV and let your television instantly receive top-rated network shows, local news and weather, sporting events and more all for free. That’s right, free digital TV. Thanks to a federal government mandate, all broadcasters are required to transmit a digital TV signal through the airwaves. Clear TV lets you bypass cable and satellite to bring network shows directly to your television so you can enjoy crystal-clear local and national free HDTV. Clear TV is amazing. If we’re just off the coast here in the Gulf of Mexico receiving free network broadcast HDTV, imagine all the free HDTV shows you’ll receive at home. Basic cable and satellite services can cost you up to $80 a month. That’s $960 a year and almost $10,000 over a 10-year period.  Why pay that much money for extra channels you may never even watch? But with Clear TV there’s no contract, no monthly fees, and no unexpected rate increases. Just free HDTV that can look as good or better than cable and satellite. Not available in stores. Order now.

Other Clear TV Reviews

  • On Amazon, Clear TV notches a 3-star rating, with relatively mixed reviews.
  • Our editor summarizes Clear TV on his personal blog: “The only reason I’d pick Clear TV over a pair of rabbit ears is because it does look better.”
  • Ad Fibs notes that the Clear TV “commercial may lead some viewers to believe that only by using this particular antenna, they can get free TV when in reality, any simple UHF or “Digital” antenna from the Radio Shack will work just as well.”
  • Ripoff Report has some complaints about the shipping and return process.
  • This site warns, “Should you decide to purchase Clear TV, please be aware of what you are purchasing, and don’t cancel your cable TV account just yet.”

History

The Google Trends chart below shows interest in the Clear TV antenna peaking around December 2013, with a recent up-tick in December 2014 and a downward turn in early 2015.

Video Review

Below is a short video summary of the information contained in this review.

Bottom Line

Clear TV is a standard television antenna which we did not find to be unique over a standard set of rabbit ears, except maybe in its appearance. Our evaluation showed that it works about as well as what you’d expect from an ordinary television antenna. If you’re in a hilly area or far away from broadcast antennas, Clear TV (or any TV antenna) may not be for you. A trip to your local Radio Shack may yield several options that are considerably less expensive and won’t require shipping charges or a month-long wait.

If you are intent on buying Clear TV, you should be able to find it locally for under $20.

Please see our article entitled The “HDTV Antenna” Myth for more info.

Your Clear TV Reviews

Have you used the Clear TV antenna? Let us hear from you in the comments below.

Leer este artículo en español

Updated February 10, 2015
Originally published June 2013

Sponsored links
  • Rob

    I bought one of these Clear TV antennas and you do get a signal with it. But I also agree that you might as well buy a cheap antenna. There’s no difference with this piece of crap. The thing that sucks about it is when the wind blows outside it screws up your signal big time. It scrambles and pauses the picture. It doesn’t matter if you move the crappie antenna around. When the wind is blowing, it does nothing. I would not recommend this at all. Big two thumbs down. P.U.

    • Stan

      The key to using this is to setup using your digital TV’s AIR connection. Do not use the cable setting. I am receiving approximately 50 HD channels with excellent clarity.

  • Bruce

    I was blown away at how crisp and cleat the Clear TV antenna was. Why am I paying for cable…. Because I wasn’t informed.

  • Heather

    I bought cleartv from the store and IT DOES NOT WORK!!! I live right in the middle of town less than a quarter mile from a tower and it does nothing no matter where I move it to in my house. I even tried extending it with another cable and putting it outside. Nothing! I did get channel 4 once but it stayed scramble and never cleared up. This is a huge scam and a waste of money. Do not buy!!!

    • Eric Brown

      The reason that your not getting a signal is that you live to close to the Tower!!

  • verda walker

    I got a clear TV antenna from this company and it works no better than rabbit ears. If you do get this antenna, you will not see the picture clear like it is said to do. And watch your card because they are frauds and will bill you for things you didn’t order. I got them in 2013 and I will tell everyone to not get it.

  • mark harrison

    All you have to do is put a wire in the input and you will get the same channels you don’t need any antena at all. Any wire speaker wirer etc. Will work and wont cost you anything!!!

  • A

    The antenna I recommend for everybody is the RCA ANT751, it’s old on Amazon U.S. for 50$ and it’s simply THE BEST. I own one and I recommended another to a friend and we both get all the major networks in crystal clear HD.

    Of course, it’s all about location, location, location when it comes to over-the-air signal. But if in a good real estate, it’s nice to stop being a cable company’s little bitch!

    Remember: good location + RCA ANT751 = free HD heaven!

    Be sure to calibrate your tv easily and rapidly with the World of Wonder Blu-ray (20$). It’ll make your tv picture pop more realistically!

    Tip: if you have a Samsung lcd/plasma, put your tv settings on Cinema > contrast at max > sharpness at zero > leave brightness + color + tint at default at 50 and you’ll have a tv 95% properly calibrated like professionals who charge 300$ for it. Only for Samsung tv though!

    I SWEAR I’m not an RCA/Disney/Samsung shill! (^_^)

  • Mike

    What they do not tell you is that if your TV is an older model (pre-2006 or 2007. TVs manufacutured after ’06 or ’07 have the digital tuners built in), you will need a digital converter box to get TV channels. Beware of this. As for the people who are using rabbit ear antennas, the digital signal isn’t picked up by the old analog antennas (i.e. rabbit ears).

  • Cesar Falconi

    This antenna doesn’t work, what a waste of money. Don’t buy this piece of garbage

  • john

    When are people going to wake up to this scam. IT DOES NOT WORK!!! First off you have to sit on top of the transmitting tower.
    If you live any distance at all forget it.
    If you have plants around this antenna or in front your wasting time again.
    Just save your money and buy an ugly outside antenna.
    I’m still laughing to this day,as to how many people that threw their old antenna’s away. Because they weren’t digital.
    An antenna is just that an antenna.
    A stick and some wire is an antenna.
    What they need to do is go back to analog programming and leave things alone.
    If it rains or you have fog or heavy snowing the signal is going to break up just like satellite tv.

  • tim

    this antenna is a piece of $H!T, what a waste of money.. doesn’t do nothing for me and i live in a big city, garbage!!!!!!

  • Bernie

    Guess I didn’t pay close enough attention. I expected more than just an antenna. Oh well.

Reviews

More in Reviews

nono pro website november 2014

NoNo Pro Review: Does it Really Work? (June 2015 Update)

wafflesJune 4, 2015
balloon bonanza website 2015

Balloon Bonanza Reviews: Do Kids Love It?

James WhiteMay 3, 2015
Meaningful Beauty

Meaningful Beauty Reviews: Does it Really Work? (May 2015 Update)

wafflesMay 1, 2015
genie hour glass website

Genie Hour Glass Reviews: Does it Work?

wafflesApril 22, 2015
hurrycane website

HurryCane Reviews 2015: Does it Work?

wafflesApril 17, 2015
insta slim website 2015

Insta Slim Reviews: Do Men Like It?

wafflesApril 14, 2015
Mr. Lid Website Screenshot

Mr. Lid Reviews: Consumers Speak Out (April 2015 Update)

wafflesApril 14, 2015
No More Rack website screenshot

NoMoreRack Reviews: April 2015 Update

wafflesApril 13, 2015