Clear TV Antenna Reviews: Does it Really Work? (Updated Nov. 2014)

Clear TV is an HDTV digital antenna, advertised as a way to receive broadcast television channels for free. We were one of the first to review the product in 2012, and we offer updated observations for 2014.

Sponsored links


About Clear TV

Simply put, Clear TV is a standard television antenna which allows you to watch HDTV over-the-air broadcast channels in your area. The advertising vaguely implies that you can replace your cable with this product, which many consumers have found to be inaccurate.

Although cleartv.com has been registered since 1997, a search of the Internet Archive reveals that this particular domain didn’t sell this product until 2013. BuyClearTV.com was used in advertising in 2013. That domain was registered in August 2012.

Clear TV is presented by Tristar Products, Inc., which also markets such products as Genie Bra, Aqua Rug, Bandaloom, Power Juicer, and many others.

In 2014, Clear TV began advertising heavily on Spanish-language television as “Clear TV Antena Digital.” The website compracleartv.com is advertised on channels such as Univision. That website was registered in December 2012.

How much does Clear TV cost?

When purchasing from the official website, Clear TV costs $19.95 plus $7.99 processing & handling for a total of $27.94.

You can add a second “free” antenna to the offers above, which will add $7.99 processing and handling. Delivery takes 3 to 4 weeks and there is a 60-day money-back guarantee, minus processing and handling.

In Stores

Clear TV is readily available in stores. The photo below shows the product for sale at an As Seen on TV store in Las Vegas. It was available for $17.99, as of April 2014. Other stores such as Walmart and Kmart offer Clear TV for sale. The price has been seen as low as $14.99.

clear-tv-stores

Clear TV is now available in stores.

Below is a screenshot of the original Clear TV website, taken in June 2013.

Clear TV

Early 2014 Advertising

In early 2014, Clear TV began advertising with celebrity spokesman John Amos. The claims made in earlier advertising has remained intact, with slightly different wording:

All you have to do is plug in Clear TV and scan to instantly receive the top-rated network shows, local news, weather, sporting events, and more all for free. Clear TV’s technology lets you bypass cable and satellite and enjoy crystal clear local and national network programming. 

Below is the revamped Clear TV website, with celebrity spokesman John Amos, as seen in March 2014.

cleartv2014

This is the 2014 television commercial for Clear TV, uploaded to YouTube in late March 2014.

Mid-2014 Minus-Amos

John Amos disappeared from the Clear TV website sometime in mid-2014, and it is unclear why he was no longer featured as the celebrity spokesman. By late 2014, the website did not feature Amos or the original unknown spokesman, as seen in the screenshot below.

clear tv website nov 2014

Cleartv.com, as seen in November 2014.

Our Clear TV Review

In mid-2013, we tried out a Clear TV antenna – which was a new product at the time – alongside a standard set of rabbit ears. The bottom line is that Clear TV antenna does work in receiving broadcast signals, but there isn’t anything particularly special about it versus regular – and cheaper – antennas. It is merely a standard television antenna which we found to be no better than the 20-year old set of rabbit ears we dug out to compare it against.

We tested our unit out in the Las Vegas Valley, and there are a wealth of broadcast channels in this area. The picture looked crisp – perhaps better than the local (Cox) cable signal, which is compressed – and the audio was clear. The 20-year old rabbit ears we also tested looked and sounded just as crisp as the Clear TV antenna.

Sponsored Links


Most old antennas will still work with HD broadcast channels, and newer TV’s are already equipped to receive digital channels. If you have an old TV, however, you may need an analog-to-digital converter box.

If you’re within about 25 miles from broadcast antennas, the difference in quality between various television antennas will be negligible. It is only when you are at great distances from the broadcast towers that the type of antenna and placement will become important for quality of signal. Placement of the antenna can also affect the quality of the reception, with an exterior wall or window providing optimal performance.

AntennaWeb offers a useful calculator which will show you the types of antennas you may need in your area. See their color coded antenna types to determine which is right for you.

Clear TV also offers an amplifier, which we did not test out. It is said to increase weak or intermittent signals. The size of the product is 7.75″ by 7.75″.

What channels can I get with Clear TV?

Because Clear TV is just an antenna, you can only pick up whatever channels are being broadcast in your area.

This claim on the Clear TV website is misleading.

This claim on the Clear TV website is misleading, and now reads that you have the “opportunity to receive hundreds…”

Clear TV’s website, however, originally claimed: “Receive ‘hundreds’ of crystal clear digital and HD shows for FREE.” Note that they put quotation marks around the word “hundreds.”

The use of the word “hundreds” was changed by late 2014. The website now reads, “…with the opportunity to receive hundreds of crystal clear digital and HD shows.”

Check the AntennaWeb link above for available channels in your area.

Clear TV Television commercial

Below is the 2013 version of the Clear TV television commercial.

Clear TV ad

This ad for Clear TV ran in heavy rotation on Facebook for months.

Are you tired of paying cable and satellite companies just to watch your favorite broadcast network shows? Why spend hundreds of dollars per year for cable and satellite only channels when you can watch broadcast television for free with the Clear TV HD digital antenna. All you have to do is plug in Clear TV and let your television instantly receive top-rated network shows, local news and weather, sporting events and more all for free. That’s right, free digital TV. Thanks to a federal government mandate, all broadcasters are required to transmit a digital TV signal through the airwaves. Clear TV lets you bypass cable and satellite to bring network shows directly to your television so you can enjoy crystal-clear local and national free HDTV. Clear TV is amazing. If we’re just off the coast here in the Gulf of Mexico receiving free network broadcast HDTV, imagine all the free HDTV shows you’ll receive at home. Basic cable and satellite services can cost you up to $80 a month. That’s $960 a year and almost $10,000 over a 10-year period.  Why pay that much money for extra channels you may never even watch? But with Clear TV there’s no contract, no monthly fees, and no unexpected rate increases. Just free HDTV that can look as good or better than cable and satellite. Not available in stores. Order now.

Other Clear TV Reviews

  • On Amazon, Clear TV notches a 2.5-star rating, with mixed reviews.
  • Our editor summarizes on his personal blog, “The only reason I’d pick Clear TV over a pair of rabbit ears is because it does look better.”
  • Ad Fibs notes that the Clear TV “commercial may lead some viewers to believe that only by using this particular antenna, they can get free TV when in reality, any simple UHF or “Digital” antenna from the Radio Shack will work just as well.”
  • Ripoff Report has some complaints about the shipping and return process.
  • This site warns, “Should you decide to purchase Clear TV, please be aware of what you are purchasing, and don’t cancel your cable TV account just yet.”

Bottom Line

Clear TV is a standard television antenna which we did not find to be unique over a standard set of rabbit ears, except maybe in its appearance. Our evaluation showed that it works about as well as what you’d expect from an ordinary television antenna. If you’re in a hilly area or far away from broadcast antennas, Clear TV (or any TV antenna) may not be for you. A trip to your local Radio Shack may yield several options that are considerably less expensive and won’t require shipping charges or a month-long wait.

If you are intent on buying Clear TV, you should be able to find it locally for under $20.

Please see our article entitled The “HDTV Antenna” Myth for more info.

Your Clear TV Reviews

Have you used the Clear TV antenna? Let us hear from you in the comments below.

Leer este artículo en español

Originally published June 20, 2013
Revised November 28, 2014

Sponsored links




  • Sandra

    I just receive two antennas and two boosters for 75.00 and just tried to connect them to my two televisions and they only give me 3 stations one in the area and two Spanish stations and I don’t speak Spanish so I guess I will keep my cable and try to get my money back.

  • Valarie Young

    I would like to know where is my Clear TV antenna? It was shipped out on March 24, 2014. I havent received it as of yet. What is the tracking number and what is the order number.

  • JC

    Glad I read the COMPLAINTS. I thought it was a scam, and I could never understand what it could do since I have rabbit ears that I got for free at a yard sale. THANKS FOR THE COMMENTS. I WAS ABSOLUTELY SURE, THEY WERENT TELLING THE WHOLE STORY. I’LL Save my money…… THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

  • Steve Oakland

    I would like to know if I could get an address to mail an order in, because I will not use credit card on the internet.

    • waffles

      They don’t offer an address on their order page or their customer care page, so it doesn’t look like they accept orders in this manner. You may want to try Bed, Bath, and Beyond or one of those As Seen on TV stores, as we have seen them for sale locally here in Nevada.

  • Mar

    Thanks for the reviews … I knew there was something bad about this antenna. when I called they were pushing me to by this antenna, and the next day they called me trying to push again and sell their product.Now I understand why they were so eager to sell this.

  • zmster

    Thanks for discussing what I’ve been grumbling about myself ever since I saw my 1st Clear TV ad. I feel sad for those folks (especially older viewers that are targeted by their ads) who will believe this is somehow a replacement for cable or satellite.
    One thing, though, they do seem to know what they’re doing with their wording, which technically, isn’t a lie or at least an outright lie.
    Case in point: “Receive ‘hundreds’ of crystal clear digital and HD shows for FREE.”
    Notice they didn’t say “Channels” but “programs.” If you get a dozen channels and each one has a24 hour schedule, then, yes, you will receive what they say. They are clever in their flim flam. Kind of sad.

    • http://wafflesatnoon.com Waffles At Noon

      It does seem that they certainly chose their words very carefully, to give viewers the impression that they would receive hundreds of channels – without actually saying that.

  • kate19201

    Yeah they almost had me fooled, but what they do not stress to viewers is this Is just an ANTENNA. You won’t get all of what they claim you get. It is just a nicer fancier antenna compared to the ones in the 1970s or standard rabbit ears. Do not cancel your cable thinking you’re getting an entire cable network for free- you do not. You will only get basic local channels like fox news cbs abc and channel 20 I forget the name of that network. And depending on how close you are to broad cast towers that will determine how many you get. If you are too far away from the towers it won’t work. Don’t fall for these as seen on TV ads they are very convincing they know they are skilled marketers and word it enough in a way they snatch consumers, but are extremely misleading on their products. They are also telling you to return your DVR with your cable company and simply buy your own DVR like TiVo you have to be careful many cable networks are on contracts and you will pay $200-$300 cancel early termination fee. Also to buy a DVR it costs $100-$200 to buy your own TiVo. It’s not worth the switch if what they promised from ClearTV was honestly legit.

  • icyhotonmynuts

    I found the ClearTV antenna picked up 15 OTA (over the air) channels, 12 of which were in HD. Compared to another more expensive flat square antenna, this picked up more channels and clearer picture. I like I can stick it via suction cups to a nearby window, or wall mount it higher than just leaving it on the TV stand or floor.

  • Donna Mohler

    Wasted my time on this product. Didnt work .

  • jaymomo

    will it pick up espn?

    • http://wafflesatnoon.com Waffles At Noon

      No. ESPN is a cable channel and does not broadcast over the airwaves.