Clear TV Antenna Review and Product Info

Clear TV is an HDTV digital antenna, advertised as a way to receive broadcast television channels for free. Read our Clear TV reviews from editors and readers, plus additional product information.

Sponsored links


About Clear TV

Clear TV is a television antenna which allows you to watch HDTV over-the-air broadcast channels in your area.

Although cleartv.com has been registered since 1997, a search of the Internet Archive reveals that this domain didn’t sell this particular product until 2013. BuyClearTV.com is also sometimes used in advertising. That domain was registered in August 2012.

Clear TV is presented by Tristar Products, Inc., which also markets such products as Genie Bra, Aqua Rug, Bandaloom, Power Juicer, and many others.

Clear TV is also advertised on Spanish-language television as “Clear TV Antena Digital.” The website compracleartv.com is advertised on channels such as Univision. That website was registered in December 2012.

How much does Clear TV cost?

Clear TV costs $19.95 plus $7.99 processing & handling for a total of $27.94. If you attempt to navigate away from the site, you may be given a new offer of “free shipping” which changes the price to $19.95 + $0 P&H for a total of $19.95.

You can add a second “free” antenna to the offers above, which will add $7.99 processing and handling. Delivery takes 3 to 4 weeks and there is a 60-day money-back guarantee, minus processing and handling.

In Stores

You can now find Clear TV in some stores. As seen in the photo below, it is available in As Seen on TV stores in Las Vegas for $17.99, as of April 2014.

clear-tv-stores

Clear TV is now available in stores.

Below is a screenshot of the original Clear TV website, taken in June 2013.

Clear TV

2014 Advertising

In early 2014, Clear TV began advertising with celebrity spokesman John Amos. The claims made in earlier advertising has remained intact, with slightly different wording:

All you have to do is plug in Clear TV and scan to instantly receive the top-rated network shows, local news, weather, sporting events, and more all for free. Clear TV’s technology lets you bypass cable and satellite and enjoy crystal clear local and national network programming. 

Below is the revamped Clear TV website, with celebrity spokesman John Amos, as seen in March 2014.

cleartv2014

This is the 2014 television commercial for Clear TV, uploaded to YouTube in late March 2014.

Our Clear TV Review

We tried out a Clear TV unit as well as a standard set of rabbit ears. The Clear TV antenna does work, but there isn’t anything particularly special about it versus regular – and cheaper – antennas. It’s simply an antenna, and we did not find it superior to the 20-year old set of rabbit ears we dug out to compare it against.

We tested our unit out in the Las Vegas Valley, and there are a wealth of broadcast channels in the area. The picture looked crisp – perhaps better than the local (Cox) cable signal, which is compressed – and the audio was clear. The 20-year old rabbit ears we also tested looked and sounded just as crisp as the Clear TV antenna.

Sponsored Links


It should be noted that most old antennas will still work with HD broadcast channels, and newer TV’s are already equipped to receive digital channels. If you have an old TV, however, you may need an analog-to-digital converter box.

If you’re within about 25 miles from broadcast antennas, the quality difference between the various antennas will be negligible. It’s only when you are at greater distances from the broadcast towers that the type of antenna and placement becomes more important for quality of signal. Placement of the antenna will affect the quality of the reception, and an exterior wall or window provide optimal performance.

AntennaWeb offers a useful calculator which will show you the types of antennas you may need in your area. See their color coded antenna types here.

Clear TV also offers an amplifier, which we did not test out. It is said to increase weak or intermittent signals. The size of the product is 7.75″ by 7.75″.

What channels can I get with Clear TV?

Because Clear TV is just an antenna, you are limited to whatever channels are broadcasting over the air in your area.

This claim on the Clear TV website is misleading.

This claim on the Clear TV website is misleading.

Clear TV’s website, however, claims: “Receive ‘hundreds’ of crystal clear digital and HD shows for FREE.” Note that they put quotation marks around the word “hundreds.” They don’t explain this, but there is nowhere in the U.S. that can pick up “hundreds” of broadcast channels. Perhaps they are referring to the “hundreds” of broadcast channels which exist in the entire U.S., but this claim is very misleading. No one who purchases Clear TV will have access to hundreds of channels.

Check the AntennaWeb link above for available channels in your area.

Clear TV Television commercial

Below is the 2013 version of the Clear TV television commercial.

Clear TV ad

This ad for Clear TV ran in heavy rotation on Facebook for months.

Are you tired of paying cable and satellite companies just to watch your favorite broadcast network shows? Why spend hundreds of dollars per year for cable and satellite only channels when you can watch broadcast television for free with the Clear TV HD digital antenna. All you have to do is plug in Clear TV and let your television instantly receive top-rated network shows, local news and weather, sporting events and more all for free. That’s right, free digital TV. Thanks to a federal government mandate, all broadcasters are required to transmit a digital TV signal through the airwaves. Clear TV lets you bypass cable and satellite to bring network shows directly to your television so you can enjoy crystal-clear local and national free HDTV. Clear TV is amazing. If we’re just off the coast here in the Gulf of Mexico receiving free network broadcast HDTV, imagine all the free HDTV shows you’ll receive at home. Basic cable and satellite services can cost you up to $80 a month. That’s $960 a year and almost $10,000 over a 10-year period.  Why pay that much money for extra channels you may never even watch? But with Clear TV there’s no contract, no monthly fees, and no unexpected rate increases. Just free HDTV that can look as good or better than cable and satellite. Not available in stores. Order now.

Other Clear TV Reviews

  • On Amazon, Clear TV notches a 3-star rating, with mixed reviews.
  • This writer summarizes, “The only reason I’d pick Clear TV over a pair of rabbit ears is because it does look better.”
  • Ad Fibs notes that the Clear TV “commercial may lead some viewers to believe that only by using this particular antenna, they can get free TV when in reality, any simple UHF or “Digital” antenna from the Radio Shack will work just as well.”
  • Ripoff Report has some complaints about the shipping and return process.
  • This site warns, “Should you decide to purchase Clear TV, please be aware of what you are purchasing, and don’t cancel your cable TV account just yet.”

Bottom Line

Clear TV is a standard TV antenna and we found nothing unique about it. Our review shows that it does work about as well as what you’d expect from an ordinary TV antenna. If you’re in a hilly area or far away from broadcast antennas, Clear TV (or any similar TV antenna) may not be for you. A trip to your local Radio Shack may yield several options that are considerably less expensive and won’t require shipping charges or a month-long wait.

Rating
2 out of 5 stars

Please see our article entitled The “HDTV Antenna” Myth for more info.

Your Clear TV Reviews

Have you used the Clear TV antenna? Let us hear from you in the comments below.

Sponsored links




141 Comments on Clear TV Antenna Review and Product Info

  1. It claims to receive hundreds of tv SHOWS. SHOWS BEING THE KEYWORD NOT CHANNELS!
    YOUR BETTER OFF GETTING A PLAIN OLD FASHIONED SET OF RABBIT EARS AT A SECOND HAND SHOP.

  2. Clear tv works

  3. THIS IS PITIFUL S E R V I C E I ordered my amtennas and received them two weeks ago. I am pleased but I want to order JUST the boosters to increase my reception. I have tried and tried to call and all I get is INDIA and someone who has NO IDEA of what I’m talking about. I have emailed and got NO RESPONSE. I know they are available but I don’t want to have to order additional antennas just to be able to get the booster. Can someone please contact me and let me know how I can order JUST the boosters Please ?
    Bob Cantrell usatbp@isp..com

  4. PURE JUNK !! STAY AWAY, DOESNT WORK AT ALL !!

  5. I got the clear tv antenna and I get the same channels I was getting with my old antenna, and I still have to adjust the antenna why is that.

  6. Yo deceo saber cuanto es total mandame tu telefono.

  7. Clear is booty and a waste of money..that’s clear when you go for a refund and they give you $7 just to keep it!

  8. I PURCHASE TWO OF THE VLEAR VIEW ANTENNAS, BUT HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO GET THEM TO WORK. I LIVVE ABOUT 60 MILES FROM A B.C. S STATION.I WAS NOT AWARE I HAD TO BE CLOSER THEN THAT.WHEN I ORDERED THEM.

  9. You better be clear!!!

  10. This is a scam. They will quote you one price and charge you another over the phone.

  11. I just receive two antennas and two boosters for 75.00 and just tried to connect them to my two televisions and they only give me 3 stations one in the area and two Spanish stations and I don’t speak Spanish so I guess I will keep my cable and try to get my money back.

  12. Valarie Young // April 5, 2014 at 2:13 am // Reply

    I would like to know where is my Clear TV antenna? It was shipped out on March 24, 2014. I havent received it as of yet. What is the tracking number and what is the order number.

  13. Glad I read the COMPLAINTS. I thought it was a scam, and I could never understand what it could do since I have rabbit ears that I got for free at a yard sale. THANKS FOR THE COMMENTS. I WAS ABSOLUTELY SURE, THEY WERENT TELLING THE WHOLE STORY. I’LL Save my money…… THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

  14. Steve Oakland // April 22, 2014 at 4:02 am // Reply

    I would like to know if I could get an address to mail an order in, because I will not use credit card on the internet.

    • They don’t offer an address on their order page or their customer care page, so it doesn’t look like they accept orders in this manner. You may want to try Bed, Bath, and Beyond or one of those As Seen on TV stores, as we have seen them for sale locally here in Nevada.

1 2 3

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

*