Dutch Glow Reviews: Does it Really Work? (Jan 2015 Update)

Dutch Glow Reviews: Does it Really Work? (Jan 2015 Update)

Dutch Glow “Amish Wood Milk” is a furniture polish which is advertised as a way to clean, polish, and nourish wood surfaces. Read our Dutch Glow reviews from editors and readers.

Sponsored links

About Dutch Glow

The makers of Dutch Glow “Amish Wood Milk” claim to offer a “pure and simple” furniture polish based on a century-old Amish woodworker’s formula that will break down years of wax buildup. This is said to be achieved without any sticky residue or wax buildup. The product is advertised as working on any wood surface.

The official product website is, which was registered in November 2013. You can contact the company by phone at 855-721-3351, or by email at [email protected]

Below is a screenshot of the official website as seen in March 2014. As of January 2015, the website has not changed:

dutch glow review

How much does Dutch Glow cost?

Online: Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk costs $10 plus $7.95 shipping for a total of $17.95. A second “free” set is included for another $7.95 – which you cannot opt out of when ordering online. There is also a $2 “processing fee” applied to all orders. This means your total cost will actually be $27.90, not $10 as they advertise on their website and in television commercials.

There is a 30-day money back guarantee, less shipping. So if you return the product, you’ll get your $10 back, but you’ll still be out $15.90 in shipping. Shipping takes 4 to 6 weeks.

Beware that some customers have mistakenly selected two SETS, believing this is how they would get their second free bottle. This, however, would be purchasing an entirely second set, for another $27.90, for a total closer to $60.

In stores: Amish Wood Milk can now be found in stores such as Bed, Bath & Beyond for about $10.

Television commercial

Below is a TV ad for Dutch Glow, which we have spotted on such channels as the Game Show Network:

Transcript of the television commercial above:

Crafty chemical companies have deceived us for generations. Once you start using their furniture polishes, you have to keep more and more layers just to create a false shine. Finally, there’s a pure and simple furniture polish from a pure and simple people. Introducing Dutch Glow. Based on a century old Amish woodworker’s formula, it easily cleans, polishes, and nourishes all the woodwork in your home. The simple ingredients in Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk break down years of wax buildup revealing your furniture’s natural glow. Look how you can turn an antique flea market find into a gold mine. Did you know most water rings are actually a discoloration in wax buildup? Dutch Glow easily removes those embarrassing heat rings and water marks. And in the kitchen it’s like a magician on your cabinets, removing cooking grease, smoke stains, and fingerprints that build up over time.

“My company cleans thousands of homes and offices every year and the only thing we trust on wood is Dutch Glow.”

The Amish would never ruin their furniture with paste wax or silicone sprays because it leaves a sticky residue that attracts dirt and dust. We cleaned half of this dining room table with Dutch Glow and broke open a down pillow to prove Dutch Glow does not attract dust like other products. When you use Dutch Glow, you’ll clean less often. Use Dutch Glow on oak, cherry, pine, maple, teak, hickory, and on any painted wood surface, too.

“We sell some of the finest cabinetry and hardwood flooring available, and we recommend Dutch Glow to all of our customers.”

Treat your wood as only the Amish could. Call now and get your bottle of Dutch Glow for just $10. We’ll also include a second bottle of Dutch Glow with our special wood floor nozzle. Just pay separate shipping and processing. But if you call right now, we’ll even include our jumbo microfiber polishing cloth absolutely free. You get it all, a huge value for just $10. Here’s how to order.

Note that there is a different version of the commercial above which can be seen on the official website. Some references to “Amish” are removed, as well as the word “crafty” to describe chemical companies.

Our Dutch Glow Review

Sponsored Links
The producers of Dutch Glow “Amish Wood Milk” make the bold assertion that they discovered a “century-old Amish woodworker’s formula” but offered no proof whatsoever about this “discovery.” In fact, the website offers little information on the company which produces Dutch Glow. We view the claim that they somehow acquired an old Amish woodworker’s formula with skepticism, and this claim feels more like a marketing tool than an absolute fact.

After ordering Dutch Glow in early 2014, we began receiving sales calls, including one which told us as a “courtesy” that we had been automatically enrolled (without asking our permission) in a special money-saving program, which would be renewed every month, which we could cancel within a month. We had to have the sales rep remove this subscription that we did not want.

Dutch Glow lists no ingredients on the label, so there is no way of knowing what you are applying to your wood furniture. The instructions state that you need to shake the bottle before using, but this instruction does not appear on the bottle itself.

In our tests of the product, we found that it performed about as good as cheap department store wood cleaners such as Pledge. We could not duplicate some of the demonstrations in the commercials, including the lack of waxy residue.

The problems associated with Dutch Glow are two-fold. There is the questionable ordering process in which some consumers were confused and ordered more product than they wanted. This could easily be remedied by an order confirmation screen, which does not exist. It can also be avoided now that Dutch Glow is available in stores. The other complaint about Dutch Glow is that it simply doesn’t work as advertised, or at least no better than cheaper alternatives. Several online reviewers have reported that inexpensive wood cleaners performed as well or better than Dutch Glow.

A minority of consumers have reported that Dutch Glow worked well for them. This could be affected by such factors as type of wood and technique of application. If you have had success with Dutch Glow, please tell us your experience below.

Skewed Reviews

Several online sites display a low star rating for Dutch Glow, which is presumably affected by early customers frustrated by the ordering process. This is often the case with As Seen on TV products which experience slow shipping in the early stages. Thus star ratings such as these should be taken with a grain of salt.


As the Google Trends chart below shows, Dutch Glow experienced its initial significant surge in interest in March 2014. That was when the product was highly marketed but had not yet arrived in stores. Smaller surges appeared in July 2014 and November 2014, and a significant surge occurred in late December 2014.

Bottom Line

Now that Dutch Glow is available in stores, it is recommended that you purchase it locally to avoid shipping and sales frustrations. The furniture polish is average at best, and we doubt the claims that the formula has anything to do with an Amish woodworker.

If you absolutely must try Dutch Glow, it is readily available locally, so you would be best advised to go that route in order to avoid shipping charges and delays.

Your Dutch Glow Reviews

Have you used Dutch Glow? Give us your reviews in the comments below.

Revised January 1, 2015
Originally published March 2014

Sponsored links
  • Nancy H. Stewart

    Glad I found this website. I bought a bottle – not online as I never buy anything from TV. The sprayer didn’t work. Took it back and the sales person tried two other bottles and the sprayer didn’t work. Refunded my money. So glad I found this website so now I know better then to even try it. Thanks so much.

  • Susan

    Beware! You will not be abel to see your total until it is charged to your card. I thought I ordered $27.90 but was charged $79. I tried to call , but got a recording. After several calls and an e-mail, I was told the $79 was right and I would have to pay return shipping!

  • cristina torre larroca

    I placed an order for one bottle and I end up spending $48, I want to cancel and the customer service phone number does not work

  • Elaine

    Not only does it not work, the shipping and handling charges outrageous but after ordering they keep calling trying to get me to “confirm” my address. When I asked why they wanted to confirm it they said they wanted to send me a $100 gas card. The guy just kept repeating my address and told me to just say yes if that was my correct address. I suspect that if you say yes they will sign you up for more of their scams. Don’t put your info on their website, wish I hadn’t.

  • Jill

    I, too, am grateful for everyone’s sharing of experience with Dutch Glow. I was smitten with the commercial but wanted to research online before purchasing any. I’m so glad I didn’t! Thanks all.

  • Patti j Christian

    I was going to order. I am sorry to say the problems you shared saved me. I did find it on Amzaon. If I deside to try it later, I will buy from a place where I am protected. Thanks again.

  • Jackie

    Ordered this 8 weeks ago and haven’t seen it yet. Called customer service and got through in a few minutes. They said it was back ordered. Should get it in a couple of weeks. We will see! But sounds like I am going to be dissappointed when I go to use it. DANG!!

  • Sherry

    Thanks for the warnings! I was looking into buying this and after reading all the comments, I’m so glad I didn’t. Sorry for everyone else’s misfortune.

  • Hillary

    Total scam! They never answer their emails, it’s been over a month and not received my product. I wish I never ordered! Don’t do it!!!!

  • Karen

    I will not buy it again. I bought on bottle for $5.00 and got three “free.” The four bottles were $20.00. The shipping and handling was $33.80. They make their money with shipping and handling charges. The furniture polish isn’t any better than you can anywhere, or not as good. I called also to send it back, but I would still be out the $33.80 handling. I will never, ever buy this again.

  • Jennifer

    This product does not do anything it says on the commercial. Do not buy!!!

  • Anne

    Would it be possible those people that have had the unfortunate bad luck with this company contact their consumers protection agency and file a formal complaint against this company? Or, contact the BBB in their area and again file a formal complaint? Just a thought. I have used both of these companies before and came out on top. Good luck to all. I sure won’t be buying this product on line.

    • gruntled

      The fact that the scammers can keep on advertising this should tell you all you need to know about consumer protection in this country. A sad, sad joke!

  • Sue

    Dodged THAT bullet!! Thank you everybody for the warnings. It is nice to know there are decent people out there who will warn others of ripoffs. Thanks again. Going to try the 100% mineral spirits that Kim from above recommended.

  • Deena

    I am so glad I found this website. I had my credit card out ready to purchase Dutch Glow off their website when I decided to read some reviews. All I want is to remove some white rings on my wood coffee table! I would have been screwed big time if I had fallen for their ad. Some consumer reporting commission should be on this one! Thanks again.

    • gruntled

      I would try some good old-fashioned paste wax on the table. I think you can even get wax specially for dark wood. Or apply an appropriate shade of Minwax stain (carefully) to the ring.

  • Jules

    Thanks for all the feedback. It really helped in making the decision as to whether to purchase this product or not. After reading your feedback I will not be purchasing.

  • Kellie

    I ordered Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk and it is garbage! It doesn’t do anything. As a matter of fact it leaves white spots, it doesn’t do what they claim it does. Don’t waste your money on this product!!

  • Jodie

    I had the same issues, the web site is poorly set up and it’s very deceiving. I ended up paying $50 for four bottles of furniture polish ( I only ordered two) that works no better than a $3.00 bottle that you buy at the store. Very disappointed.

  • michelle

    DO NOT BUY! They sent and charged more then I agreed to. To top it off it doesn’t work any better then a drug store cleaner. BUYER BEWARE!

  • Judith Williams

    Because of the web site design there is no way to review and/or revise an order — it is immediately submitted. An request to cancel cancel the order within minutes of being submitted has been denied with the offer of a $5.00 credit. I cannot review the product since I haven’t yet received it, but the customer service is unacceptable. In this age of computers the order should have been able to be cancelled with the click of a mouse. Now I am forced to contest credit card charges and deal with returning the package when it arrives.

  • karen d miller

    I ordered the t.v. offer. One offer “buy one get 2nd bottle just pay shipping”. I refused every other offer and before I received my “Glow” I received a phone call trying to sell me other products that they could add to my order. I said to the girl “I am surprised my order hasn’t been shipped” and she said that it may have been. So that tells me “Dutch Glow” is giving out my info #1. #2 my order came – 6 bottles all the same and a receipt for $64.70. I called immediately and I have no recourse except to send it back and lose all shipping & processing plus the cost for sending it back —–totaling All for a loss$36.80.

  • howard gustin

    Product might be fine but the marketing co. sucks. Charged me for four when I ordered one. No refund for their shipping or handling; which costs more than the product. Will not use again

  • Jordanderaps

    Does it work for bamboo cause i have a long board and it like really dirty

    • Kim Sprout

      My family installs all types of wood flooring. We use 100% mineral spirits to clean adhesive spots after installation. You can buy this at any hardware store. Zep hardwood & laminate floor cleaner is another good product that dosen’t streak like most cleaners.

  • gruntled

    I wonder- do the TV stations that accept advertising from scam companies have any responsibility? I’m inclined to think they should.

  • gruntled

    If you didn’t click “Place Order”, you shouldn’t have to pay!


More in Reviews

kitty shack website 2015

Kitty Shack Reviews: Do Cats Love it?

James WhiteJuly 15, 2015
Perricone Cold Plasma Sub-D Website Review Screenshot

Perricone’s Cold Plasma Sub-D Reviews

wafflesJuly 14, 2015
tummy tuck belt review

Tummy Tuck Belt Reviews 2015: Does it Work?

wafflesJuly 11, 2015
nono pro website november 2014

NoNo Pro Review: Does it Really Work? (June 2015 Update)

wafflesJune 4, 2015
balloon bonanza website 2015

Balloon Bonanza Reviews: Do Kids Love It?

James WhiteMay 3, 2015
Meaningful Beauty

Meaningful Beauty Reviews: Does it Really Work? (May 2015 Update)

wafflesMay 1, 2015
genie hour glass website

Genie Hour Glass Reviews: Does it Work?

wafflesApril 22, 2015
hurrycane website

HurryCane Reviews 2015: Does it Work?

wafflesApril 17, 2015