Reviews

Dutch Glow Reviews: Does it Really Work? (Jan 2016 Update)

Dutch Glow Reviews: Does it Really Work? (Jan 2016 Update)
Sponsored links

Dutch Glow “Amish Wood Milk” is a furniture polish which is advertised as a way to clean, polish, and nourish wood surfaces. Read our Dutch Glow reviews from editors and readers.

Sponsored links

About Dutch Glow

The makers of Dutch Glow “Amish Wood Milk” claim to offer a “pure and simple” furniture polish based on a century-old Amish woodworker’s formula that will break down years of wax buildup. This is said to be achieved without any sticky residue or wax buildup. The product is advertised as working on any wood surface.

The official product website is dutchglow.com, which was registered in November 2013. You can contact the company by phone at 855-721-3351, or by email at [email protected]

Below is a screenshot of the official website as seen in March 2014. As of January 2016, the website remains unchanged:

dutch glow review

How much does Dutch Glow cost?

Online: Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk costs $10 plus $7.95 shipping for a total of $17.95. A second “free” set is included for another $7.95 – which you cannot opt out of when ordering online. There is also a $2 “processing fee” applied to all orders. This means your total cost will actually be $27.90, not $10 as they advertise on their website and in television commercials. A “jumbo micro fiber polishing cloth” is included with online orders.

There is a 30-day money back guarantee, less shipping. So if you return the product, you’ll get your $10 back, but you’ll still be out $15.90 in shipping. Shipping takes 4 to 6 weeks.

Beware that some customers have mistakenly selected two SETS, believing this is how they would get their second free bottle. This, however, would be purchasing an entirely second set, for another $27.90, for a total closer to $60.

In stores: Amish Wood Milk can be found in stores such as Bed, Bath & Beyond for about $10.

Television commercial

Below is a TV ad for Dutch Glow, which we have spotted on such channels as the Game Show Network:

Transcript of the television commercial above:

Crafty chemical companies have deceived us for generations. Once you start using their furniture polishes, you have to keep more and more layers just to create a false shine. Finally, there’s a pure and simple furniture polish from a pure and simple people. Introducing Dutch Glow. Based on a century old Amish woodworker’s formula, it easily cleans, polishes, and nourishes all the woodwork in your home. The simple ingredients in Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk break down years of wax buildup revealing your furniture’s natural glow. Look how you can turn an antique flea market find into a gold mine. Did you know most water rings are actually a discoloration in wax buildup? Dutch Glow easily removes those embarrassing heat rings and water marks. And in the kitchen it’s like a magician on your cabinets, removing cooking grease, smoke stains, and fingerprints that build up over time.

“My company cleans thousands of homes and offices every year and the only thing we trust on wood is Dutch Glow.”

The Amish would never ruin their furniture with paste wax or silicone sprays because it leaves a sticky residue that attracts dirt and dust. We cleaned half of this dining room table with Dutch Glow and broke open a down pillow to prove Dutch Glow does not attract dust like other products. When you use Dutch Glow, you’ll clean less often. Use Dutch Glow on oak, cherry, pine, maple, teak, hickory, and on any painted wood surface, too.

“We sell some of the finest cabinetry and hardwood flooring available, and we recommend Dutch Glow to all of our customers.”

Treat your wood as only the Amish could. Call now and get your bottle of Dutch Glow for just $10. We’ll also include a second bottle of Dutch Glow with our special wood floor nozzle. Just pay separate shipping and processing. But if you call right now, we’ll even include our jumbo microfiber polishing cloth absolutely free. You get it all, a huge value for just $10. Here’s how to order.

Note that there is a different version of the commercial above which can be seen on the official website. Some references to “Amish” are removed, as well as the word “crafty” to describe chemical companies.

Our Dutch Glow Review

The producers of Dutch Glow “Amish Wood Milk” make the bold assertion that they discovered a “century-old Amish woodworker’s formula” but offered no proof whatsoever about this “discovery.” In fact, the website offers little information on the company that produces Dutch Glow. We view the claim that they somehow acquired an old Amish woodworker’s formula with skepticism, and this claim feels more like a marketing tool than an absolute fact.

Sponsored Links

After ordering Dutch Glow in early 2014, we began receiving sales calls, including one which told us as a “courtesy” that we had been automatically enrolled (without asking our permission) in a special money-saving program, which would be renewed every month, which we could cancel within a month. We had to have the sales rep remove this subscription that we did not want.

Dutch Glow lists no ingredients on the label, so there is no way of knowing what you are applying to your wood furniture. The instructions state that you need to shake the bottle before using, but this instruction does not appear on the bottle itself.

In our tests of the product, we found that it performed about as well as inexpensive department store wood cleaners such as Pledge. We could not duplicate some of the demonstrations in the commercials, including the lack of waxy residue.

The problems associated with Dutch Glow are two-fold. First is the questionable ordering process in which some consumers have been confused and ordered more product than they wanted. This could easily be remedied by an order confirmation screen, which does not exist. This problem can also be avoided by simply purchasing Dutch Glow at a local store. The other complaint about Dutch Glow is that it simply doesn’t work as advertised, or at least no better than cheaper alternatives. Several online reviewers have reported that inexpensive wood cleaners performed as well or better than Dutch Glow.

A minority of consumers have reported that Dutch Glow worked well for them. This could be affected by such factors as type of wood and technique of application. If you have had success with Dutch Glow, please tell us your experience below.

Skewed Reviews

Several online sites display a low star rating for Dutch Glow, which is presumably affected by early customers frustrated by the ordering process. This is often the case with As Seen on TV products which experience slow shipping in the early stages. Thus star ratings such as these should be taken with a grain of salt.

With over 500 customer reviews on Amazon, Dutch Glow holds about a 3.3 star rating, although 40% of its rating includes 1-star votes.

History

As the Google Trends chart below shows, Dutch Glow experienced its initial significant surge in interest in March 2014. That was when the product was highly marketed but had not yet arrived in stores. Smaller surges appeared in July 2014 and January 2015, and a more recent surge in December 2015.

Bottom Line

Now that Dutch Glow is available in stores, it is recommended that you purchase it locally to avoid shipping and sales frustrations. The furniture polish is average at best, and we doubt the claims that the formula has anything to do with an Amish woodworker.

If you absolutely must try Dutch Glow, it is readily available locally, so you would be best advised to go that route in order to avoid shipping charges and delays.

Your Dutch Glow Reviews

Have you used Dutch Glow? Give us your reviews in the comments below.

Revised January 1, 2016
Originally published March 2014

Sponsored links
Reviews

More in Reviews

Celebrating the weird and fake since 2008.

Copyright © 2008-2016 Wafflesatnoon.com, Inc. Theme by MVP Themes, powered by Wordpress.