Reviews

Flex Shot Review 2015: Does it Work?

Flex Shot Review 2015: Does it Work?

Flex Shot is a sealant advertised as a way to “caulk, bond, and seal virtually everything.” Read my Flex Shot review and observations about its advertising.

Sponsored links

About Flex Shot

Flex Shot is part of the Flex Seal family of As Seen on TV products. Other “Flex” products include original Flex Seal and Flex Seal Clear. This product is described by the makers as:

“…the revolutionary super thick rubber sealant that caulks, bonds and seals virtually everything. Flex Shot is so easy to use – giving you a perfect bead every time. And because it’s so thick, you can fill huge cracks and holes, stopping the toughest leaks instantly! Forget about those bulky caulking guns. Flex Shot is the neat and clean way to make repairs with pinpoint accuracy. Flex Shot comes out nice and thick, clings to any surface, then turns into a stretchy rubber seal that’s virtually indestructible!”

The can describes it as a “thick rubber adhesive sealant.” The official website is flexshot.com, which was registered in March 2011. The domain flexshotoffer.com has also been used in advertising in late 2014. That domain was registered in April 2014, and now forwards to flexshot.com.

How much does Flex Shot cost?

Flex Shot costs $19.99 plus $9.95 shipping. They also do not let you opt out of the second “free” Flex Shot for another $9.99 processing. This also includes a “handy can” of Flex Seal. This brings your total to $39.93.

To state again, if you order Flex Shot from the website, you will pay $39.93, not $19.99 as advertised due to shipping costs.

Flex Shot is now available in stores for about $13. If you wish to try the product, I highly recommend purchasing it from a trusted third-party vendor or locally to avoid the “get one free” gotcha.

Flex Shot TV Commercial

Below is the current television commercial for Flex Shot, which has been advertising as of December 2014. It features “Flex” products creator Phil Swift, who also appears on the back of the can.

Transcript of an earlier Flex Shot commercial:

Flex Shot, an incredible new product from Flex Seal. Hi, Phil Swift here. This is Flex Shot, the easy way to caulk, bond, and seal virtually everything, and it’s so easy to use. Flex Shot is the neat and clean way for anyone to make repairs. Flex Shot is so thick, you can fill huge cracks and holes, making everything completely waterproof. Flex Shot’s thick rubber formula gives you a perfect bead and will last up to 30 years. Messy caulks dry out. What a waste. But with Flex Shot, there’s no waste. You can use it over and over again. And it’s mildew resistant, perfect for kitchens and baths. Flex Shot looks fantastic anywhere. Ideal on weather stripping and decorative items. Flex Shot comes out nice and thick. It fills in large cracks and holes, and when you stop, it stops. And it dries to this, a super tough stretchy rubber. It expands and contracts.

Watch how water gushes out of this huge hole, but after it’s sealed with Flex Shot, there’s absolutely no leaks. That’s amazing! Imagine what you can do with the power of Flex Shot. You can get Flex Shot in white, clear, black, or almond for just $19.99, plus we’ll include this extension tube. Just twist and lock for total control. But wait, we’re going to double your order. That’s two cans of Flex Shot and two extension tubes plus I’ll throw in a free handy can of Flex Seal, the easy way to coat, seal, and stop leaks fast. During this exclusive TV offer, you’ll get two cans of Flex Shot, two extension tubes, and a free handy can of Flex Seal, all for just $19.99. Order now.

Flex Shot Review

Sponsored Links

Flex Shot advertises the promise of easy, perfect caulking. I found it virtually identical to other pressurized caulking cans on the market, which have been readily available for years. That’s not to say that the product is in any way inferior to other caulking products, but I also wouldn’t call it superior. In my tests of the product, Flex Shot performed about as expected, with acceptable bonding properties, and on par with similar products.

The advertising, however, asks viewers to take a leap of faith and believe they will suddenly find themselves proficient at caulking, which is not likely to happen. Proficient caulking requires a certain amount of practice to achieve. And not everyone is immediately aware of how to “work” caulk after it has been applied. Purchasing Flex Shot will not immediately impart this skill to consumers.

A trip to your local hardware store will yield many caulking options, some which closely resemble Flex Shot, such as DAP’s Kwick Seal or Easy Seal products, which are both under $10.

In the end, the internet offer feels like an overpriced pressurized can of ordinary caulk. A local purchase will put it about on par with its competitors price-wise.

I should also point out that if you get Flex Shot (or other caulks) on your hands, washing it with water may not remove it as easily as wiping it off with a rag or paper towel.

Other Fake Flex Shot Reviews

If you’ve gone online in search of Flex Shot reviews, you may have encountered several fake or affiliate reviews for the product. Some of these reviews are not objective because the writer is attempting to sell the product. You’ll often read one of these glowing reviews which end with a links to buy the product. Take any such review with a grain of salt.

flex shot website

This is the Flex Shot website in December 2014. It remains unchanged in April 2015.

Bottom Line

Flex Shot performs on par with an average pressurized can of caulk. I found nothing special about its properties or its application.

The product’s biggest downfall is the cost of shipping, which makes this product about double that of similar products. I advise purchasing it online to avoid shipping charges and delays, and to give you an opportunity to price competing products.

Your Flex Shot Reviews

Have you used Flex Shot? Give us your Flex Shot review in the comments below.

Updated April 8, 2015
First published March 2014

Sponsored links
View Comments (7)

7 Comments

  1. Linda

    April 25, 2015 at 1:23 pm

    Female here. I saw this in a store, having never seen the infomercial, and bought it for 9.99 as I am terrible with caulking guns and the tubes. I LIKED the can idea and that it was clear. I just used it today on the outside of my house where the old caulk was gone and water had seeped in under my siding. Cleaned out the area and pressed the nozzle. I felt like I had more control and liked how it seemed to go into all the crevices as I smoothed it out.
    It was weird to get off my hands, though. It’s suppose to rain tomorrow so I guess I will see if it works and/or if I did a good job. But I guess the real test will be to see if I am still dry after a few years!

  2. Billie A. Carnes

    January 31, 2015 at 5:49 pm

    Totally agree with Fred, May 11, 2014. Hindsight is a good lesson! Wish I had used mine and I certainly would have NEVER bought this product. Advertisement is very deceiving!! Definitely I am a LOSER ON THIS!!

  3. tfaulk13

    May 11, 2014 at 3:35 am

    I would like to see mandatory law requiring all adverstisers to indicate the actual shipping and processing charges they will be charged as well as the total amount to be charged to the consumer. These amounts should also be required to be posted in the same size type and same font as the largest used in the dispaly either on TV or in magazines or any other media. I guess the law would have to specify that the amounts cannot be obscured in any way as to make them less visible by matching backgrounds or any other method. By the marketers of these products using deceitful methods to Suck consumers into unknown or misunderstood terms and conditions, people are being “robbed” of their money legally. If they truly believe in their product they should offer it at a fair market price and then charge only the actual costs for shipping items to consumers. When a customer requests a refund they should also be refunded the shipping costs. If you have a truly good product and at a good price you will not have very many returns. Your product will sell itself and word-of-mouth goes a long way !

    • Waffles At Noon

      May 11, 2014 at 6:14 am

      Another hole which should be plugged is the lack of a confirmation/review screen in the ordering process before a card is submitted for payment. Many readers have put in their credit card info and hit “Submit” only to find out they inadvertently purchased FOUR products (two sets of two) instead of only two, due to confusing wording on the ordering page. A mandatory confirmation screen prior to submission would lessen this confusion.

  4. tfaulk13

    May 11, 2014 at 3:11 am

    You need to edit your wording in your review discussing fake reviews of this product. You say they are “unbiased” because they are attempting to sell you their product. The proper word would be “biased” in this case. Look up in the dictionary for verification. To say something is “unbiased” means it is NOT done for self benefit or the benefit of others. Just for clarification so no readers become confused.

  5. Fred

    April 8, 2014 at 8:10 am

    I too order Flex Shot Caulking as promoted on TV an Online, but the advertisement is false. I ordered two cans of Flex Shot clear for $19.95 plus shipping and handling which came out to $29.94. I wanted and additional can bringing my total order up to three cans of Flex Shot for and additional $9.99 this brought my total order up to $39.43 for three can of clear Flex Shot, but when I got the order in the mail I only received two can of clear Flex Shot and one can of Flex Seal which was advertised as a free. I should have received three cans of Flex Shot based on what I paid for, but when I contacted Flex Shot Customer service they tried to explain to me that I only ordered one can of Flex Shot and paid extra for another can that brought my total order up to $39.93. I strongly recommend that this company be not allowed to market their product based on “Bate and Switch” marketing they are con-artist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Reviews

James White specializes in internet hoaxes, travel, product reviews, and social media.

More in Reviews

balloon bonanza website 2015

Balloon Bonanza Reviews: Do Kids Love It?

James WhiteMay 3, 2015
Meaningful Beauty

Meaningful Beauty Reviews: Does it Really Work? (May 2015 Update)

wafflesMay 1, 2015
genie hour glass website

Genie Hour Glass Reviews: Does it Work?

wafflesApril 22, 2015
hurrycane website

HurryCane Reviews 2015: Does it Work?

wafflesApril 17, 2015
insta slim website 2015

Insta Slim Reviews: Do Men Like It?

wafflesApril 14, 2015
Mr. Lid Website Screenshot

Mr. Lid Reviews: Consumers Speak Out (April 2015 Update)

wafflesApril 14, 2015
No More Rack website screenshot

NoMoreRack Reviews: April 2015 Update

wafflesApril 13, 2015
pocket hose top brass website 2015

Pocket Hose Top Brass Reviews: Does it Handle the Pressure?

wafflesApril 12, 2015