Flex Shot Review: December 2014 Update

Flex Shot is a sealant advertised to "caulk, bond, and seal virtually everything." Read my Flex Shot review and observations about its advertising.

Sponsored links


About Flex Shot

Flex Shot is part of the Flex Seal family of As Seen on TV products. Other “Flex” products include original Flex Seal and Flex Seal Clear. This product is described by the makers as:

“…the revolutionary super thick rubber sealant that caulks, bonds and seals virtually everything. Flex Shot is so easy to use – giving you a perfect bead every time. And because it’s so thick, you can fill huge cracks and holes, stopping the toughest leaks instantly! Forget about those bulky caulking guns. Flex Shot is the neat and clean way to make repairs with pinpoint accuracy. Flex Shot comes out nice and thick, clings to any surface, then turns into a stretchy rubber seal that’s virtually indestructible!”

The official website is flexshot.com, which was registered in March 2011. The domain flexshotoffer.com has also been used in advertising in late 2014. That domain was registered in April 2014.

How much does Flex Shot cost?

Flex Shot costs $19.99 plus $9.95 shipping. They also do not let you opt out of the second “free” Flex Shot for another $9.99 processing. This also includes a “handy can” of Flex Seal. This brings your total to $39.93.

To state again, if you order Flex Shot from the website, you will pay $39.93, not $19.99 as advertised due to shipping costs.

Flex Shot is available from online retailers such as Target.com or Walmart.com for about $13. If you wish to try the product, I highly recommend purchasing it from a trusted third-party vendor to avoid the “get one free” gotcha.

Flex Shot TV Commercial

Below is the current television commercial for Flex Shot, which has been advertising as of December 2014. It features “Flex” products creator Phil Swift.

Transcript of an earlier Flex Shot commercial:

Flex Shot, an incredible new product from Flex Seal. Hi, Phil Swift here. This is Flex Shot, the easy way to caulk, bond, and seal virtually everything, and it’s so easy to use. Flex Shot is the neat and clean way for anyone to make repairs. Flex Shot is so thick, you can fill huge cracks and holes, making everything completely waterproof. Flex Shot’s thick rubber formula gives you a perfect bead and will last up to 30 years. Messy caulks dry out. What a waste. But with Flex Shot, there’s no waste. You can use it over and over again. And it’s mildew resistant, perfect for kitchens and baths. Flex Shot looks fantastic anywhere. Ideal on weather stripping and decorative items. Flex Shot comes out nice and thick. It fills in large cracks and holes, and when you stop, it stops. And it dries to this, a super tough stretchy rubber. It expands and contracts.

Watch how water gushes out of this huge hole, but after it’s sealed with Flex Shot, there’s absolutely no leaks. That’s amazing! Imagine what you can do with the power of Flex Shot. You can get Flex Shot in white, clear, black, or almond for just $19.99, plus we’ll include this extension tube. Just twist and lock for total control. But wait, we’re going to double your order. That’s two cans of Flex Shot and two extension tubes plus I’ll throw in a free handy can of Flex Seal, the easy way to coat, seal, and stop leaks fast. During this exclusive TV offer, you’ll get two cans of Flex Shot, two extension tubes, and a free handy can of Flex Seal, all for just $19.99. Order now.

Flex Shot Review

Sponsored Links


Flex Shot advertises the promise of easy, perfect caulking. I found it virtually identical to other pressurized caulking cans on the market, which have been readily available for years. That’s not to say that the product is in any way inferior to other caulking products, but I also wouldn’t call it superior. In my tests of the product, Flex Shot performed about as expected, with acceptable bonding properties, and on par with similar products.

The advertising, however, asks viewers to take a leap of faith and believe they will suddenly find themselves proficient at caulking, which is not likely to happen. Proficient caulking requires a certain amount of practice to achieve. And not everyone is immediately aware of how to “work” caulk after it has been applied. Purchasing Flex Shot will not immediately impart this skill to consumers.

A trip to your local hardware store will yield many caulking options, some which closely resemble Flex Shot, such as DAP’s Kwick Seal or Easy Seal products, which are both under $10.

In the end, the internet offer feels like an overpriced pressurized can of ordinary caulk. A local purchase will put it about on par with its competitors price-wise.

Other Fake Flex Shot Reviews

If you’ve gone online in search of Flex Shot reviews, you may have encountered several fake or affiliate reviews for the product. Some of these reviews are not objective because the writer is attempting to sell the product. You’ll often read one of these glowing reviews which end with a links to buy the product. Take any such review with a grain of salt.

flex shot website

This is the Flex Shot website in December 2014.

Bottom Line

Flex Shot performs on par with an average pressurized can of caulk. I found nothing special about its properties or its application.

The product’s biggest downfall is the cost of shipping, which makes this product about double that of similar products. I suggest purchasing Flex Shot from a third party website, or picking up a competing product locally.

Your Flex Shot Reviews

Have you used Flex Shot? Give us your Flex Shot review in the comments below.

Updated December 16, 2014
First published March 2014

Sponsored links




James White

James White is Editor-in-Chief of Wafflesatnoon.com, and specializes in product reviews.

Latest posts by James White (see all)

About James White (22 Articles)
James White is Editor-in-Chief of Wafflesatnoon.com, and specializes in product reviews.

5 Comments on Flex Shot Review: December 2014 Update

  1. I would like to see mandatory law requiring all adverstisers to indicate the actual shipping and processing charges they will be charged as well as the total amount to be charged to the consumer. These amounts should also be required to be posted in the same size type and same font as the largest used in the dispaly either on TV or in magazines or any other media. I guess the law would have to specify that the amounts cannot be obscured in any way as to make them less visible by matching backgrounds or any other method. By the marketers of these products using deceitful methods to Suck consumers into unknown or misunderstood terms and conditions, people are being “robbed” of their money legally. If they truly believe in their product they should offer it at a fair market price and then charge only the actual costs for shipping items to consumers. When a customer requests a refund they should also be refunded the shipping costs. If you have a truly good product and at a good price you will not have very many returns. Your product will sell itself and word-of-mouth goes a long way !

    • Another hole which should be plugged is the lack of a confirmation/review screen in the ordering process before a card is submitted for payment. Many readers have put in their credit card info and hit “Submit” only to find out they inadvertently purchased FOUR products (two sets of two) instead of only two, due to confusing wording on the ordering page. A mandatory confirmation screen prior to submission would lessen this confusion.

  2. You need to edit your wording in your review discussing fake reviews of this product. You say they are “unbiased” because they are attempting to sell you their product. The proper word would be “biased” in this case. Look up in the dictionary for verification. To say something is “unbiased” means it is NOT done for self benefit or the benefit of others. Just for clarification so no readers become confused.

  3. I too order Flex Shot Caulking as promoted on TV an Online, but the advertisement is false. I ordered two cans of Flex Shot clear for $19.95 plus shipping and handling which came out to $29.94. I wanted and additional can bringing my total order up to three cans of Flex Shot for and additional $9.99 this brought my total order up to $39.43 for three can of clear Flex Shot, but when I got the order in the mail I only received two can of clear Flex Shot and one can of Flex Seal which was advertised as a free. I should have received three cans of Flex Shot based on what I paid for, but when I contacted Flex Shot Customer service they tried to explain to me that I only ordered one can of Flex Shot and paid extra for another can that brought my total order up to $39.93. I strongly recommend that this company be not allowed to market their product based on “Bate and Switch” marketing they are con-artist.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

*



− one = 8