iPad Tester Scam Continues

Test and keep an iPad FREE! That’s the promise made in various forms online. Today it was in the form of a tagged photo on Facebook. The photo also includes “details apply. itestipad.com.” But is it really possible to test and keep an iPad? For most people, no. For the brave few who might actually jump through all the hoops required to receive one, it will end up costing them far more than they would have paid for a new iPad. And even then, they still probably won’t get one.

Sponsored links

This is nothing more than a modern bait-and-switch scam. They lure you in with a “free” iPad, with only a few minor “details” which end up being some pretty major details. You can read more on the scam here, which we covered a few months ago. These scammers appear to use social media for the bulk of their marketing. They’ll add people to Facebook events, Facebook groups, or tag them in photos related to this scam, which point to url’s forwarded to a different site.

In today’s incarnation, the photo being circulated lists the domain itestipad.com. That site is merely forwarded to gadgetspoint.net, which is where we see all of the details associated with this offer.

The “Free” iPad is bait you’ll never receive.

Let’s take a look at the domains a little closer:
itestipad.com was created on 4/28/2012 by an unknown entity, due to privacy protection.
gadgetspoint.net was created on 4/17/2012 by United Web Survey from India and hosted in Jamaica. (See below)

The scam here is that you must complete 13¬†“rewards” offers, depending on which part of their Terms you read. Many of these are expensive, impossible to complete, or rely on you recruiting your friends who must sign up for offers themselves. In the end, it becomes an expensive burden that no one would want to endure.

Further reading of their terms shows that if they decide you violated their terms, even after you’ve received your gift, you agree to ship it back to them! They also reserve the right to give you a different gift they deem of “comparable value.” In fact, their terms state that if you even mention their phone number online, you can be disqualified:

“…posting information on a website, forum, blog, or auction that has to do with manipulating the website or “canceling the offers,” including but not limited to cancellation phone numbers, cancellation time frames and any encouragement or direction to cancel the offers after signing-up with the applicable advertisers;”

Should they decide to put your account on hold, they won’t notify you.¬†Section VI, B2 of their terms states: We are not responsible for notifying you about a change in your account status. This means you will continue signing up for offers, not realizing that you’ve already been disqualified.

In the end, the most likely outcome is that you’ll sign up for a few “offers” only to realize you’ve just given relentless telemarketers permission to hound you, and you’ve signed up for things you don’t want or need. And you’ll have nothing to show for it.

Do yourself a favor and read our earlier article – and forget about these phony iPad test and keep scams.


Sponsored links

9 Comments on iPad Tester Scam Continues

  1. Can you let me know now please

  2. blake miller // February 7, 2013 at 3:50 pm // Reply

    hay win do u get the ipad?

  3. There’s mail fraud. So why hasnt there been
    Something similar been done on the internet
    To protect people from the likes of these no good doers?

  4. Years ago I did a offer program on gadgetcity.com which is no longer up. I spent around $65 for like 8 offers and ended up getting an xbox 360 for it. At the time the Xbox was around $300. Since then these sites have been closed or changed to the point they aren’t worth it. It took a while but I ended up with a Xbox I still have today. Too bad this is no longer a possibility!

  5. Some person keeps tagging me in these photos on facebook; they look almost identical to the example of itestipad.com. The profile picture looks like a teenage girl, and nobody has ever posted anything on her wall and all of her friends were added on the same day. I’m pretty sure this profile was not made by this girl, but when I try to report this as an impersonating account, the only options are that this account is impersonating me, someone i know, or a celebrity, and neither are the case. Again, her facebook page shows absolutely zero communication with any of her “friends”, which leads me to believe that she doesn’t know any of them and is possibly not even a girl. How do I properly report this person? I’d unfriend her, but I don’t like knowing that these people are on facebook so I want to get “her” account deleted.

    • I believe you have to report the photo itself. Under the photo options, choose report/remove tag. This will bring up such options as spam, harassment, or a compromised account.

  6. Tried to post this article to Facebook because I’ve seen a lot of these pictures with my friends tagged in them and I liked the directness of this article. But Facebook Wont post it because there are links in it that have been reported as spam. Ugh. Thanks FB, way to protect your users. Smh

  7. Demetria Vernon // June 29, 2012 at 6:59 am // Reply

    thats not true

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


− four = 0