Potato Express Reviews and Product Info

Potato Express is a product which is advertised as a way for consumers to cook potatoes more efficiently in the microwave. Today we offer Potato Express reviews from editors and readers, along with additional product information.

Sponsored links


About Potato Express

Potato Express is a microwave potato bag which creates a “steam pocket” that is said to cook potatoes more efficiently and lock in moisture. A relatively new product, the website buypotatoexpress.com registered in April 2013.

Contact Info

  • Phone: 877-883-9082
  • Hours: 8am to 10pm ET
  • Email: [email protected]
  • Address:  Ontel Products Corporation, 21 Law Dr., 1st Floor, Fairfield, NJ 07004


How much does Potato Express cost?

  • Potato Express costs $10 plus $6.99 shipping.
  • They “double” your order for another $6.99 (You can’t opt out of this “offer”)
  • Every order includes a $1 “Web Service Fee”
  • Total cost = $24.98
  • 30-Day money back guarantee (less shipping, meaning you would only get $10 back)


Features & Claims

  • Holds up to 4 large potatoes
  • Reusable and washable
  • Cooks in 4 minutes
  • Works on potatoes, corn, or bread
  • Includes recipe book

Is Potato Express available in stores?

When this review was originally published in October 2013, we had not yet spotted Potato Express in stores. Since then we have seen it for about $10 in Walmart, As Seen on TV stores, and Bed, Bath, & Beyond.

Screen Shot

  • Below is a screen shot of the official Potato Express website, taken in October 2013:

potato-express-screen-shot


Television Commercial

Below is a recent television commercial for Potato Express

Transcript of Television Commercial
Everyone loves a delicious baked potato but cooking them in the oven takes forty five minutes and when you cook them in the microwave they come out mushy and dry. Introducing Potato Express, the fastest, easiest way to cook perfect oven-baked potatoes in just four minutes. Watch, just slip potatoes into the Potato Express and place it in the microwave. In just four minutes, you’ll have perfect, steamy baked potatoes with a tender skin and a delicious, fluffy inside. Potato Express’ secret is the unique insulation design that creates a steam pocket with just the right amount of moisture to cook potatoes to perfection. Not too soggy, not too dry, just tender skin and fluffy baked potato goodness guaranteed every time! Top potatoes with sour cream and chives, bacon and cheese, delicious chili potatoes, even broccoli and cheddar. Add sugar and marshmallows to sweet potatoes or yams! All natural Potato Express cooks up to four full sized potatoes in four minutes for a delicious feast the whole family will love! Or add smaller red potatoes to prepare the quickest, most delicious potato salad ever! Use Potato Express for super quick home fries for a gourmet breakfast. Potato Express will save you time when making mashed potatoes or crisp, tender potato skins. Machine washable and reusable over and over and over again. Stop wasting time baking potatoes in the oven. Call now and get Potato Express complete with recipe guide for just ten dollars. As a bonus get the Perfect Grater absolutely free! Instantly garnish your potatoes with cheese and more. But wait! Call right now and we’ll double your order free, just pay separate processing and handling. You get it all, two Potato Express, two recipe guides, and two Perfect Graters all for just ten dollars, so call now!  

Potato Express Review

In our tests of Potato Express, we made the following observations:

  • One potato: We found that one potato cooked to satisfaction in 4 minutes. It was fluffy and moist inside.
  • Four potatoes: We could not fit 4 large potatoes in the Potato Express, but we managed to get 4 small potatoes in Potato Express, and they took just over 10 minutes to cook completely.
  • Quality: The quality was slightly better than that of a potato cooked without the sleeve, as the skin was not as dried out. It was still not as good as a potato baked in the oven.

Sponsored Links



Alternatives

  • A cursory search of Amazon reveals similar microwave potato bags which are available at a lower cost.
  • A product known as “PotatOH” is available in grocery stores. These potatoes are sold and cooked in a special wrap which is also designed to seal in moisture, similar to the claims made by Potato Express
  • You can make potatoes in a product by Ziploc called “Zip n’ Steam” which is a vented cooking bag for the microwave.


Ordering

Some readers have expressed frustration and confusion from the ordering process, with some consumers being charged for more orders than they wanted. Note that it is now available in stores, so you can avoid online ordering hassles by picking it up locally.

Bottom Line

Potato Express does appear to be slightly better than the traditional method of cooking a potato in the microwave. At $25, however, it may not be a justifiable investment for most consumers, especially as it is essentially just a cloth sack. If you want to try it, we recommend buying locally for about $10 to avoid shipping costs and delays.

Rating
2.5 out of 5 stars

Your Potato Express Reviews

Have you used Potato Express? Let us hear from you in the comments below.

Updated February 5, 2014

Sponsored links




23 Comments on Potato Express Reviews and Product Info

  1. This article was VERY helpful! I was considering ordering the Potato Express, now, I am not! Especially, since I can’t opt out of the second one, and that although they claim there is a money back guarantee, they keep $15!

    • I’m with you Monica. Just watch the “as seen on TV” shelf at Walmart or Target. I’t won’t be long until these things show up there and you will be able to buy just one with NO shipping charge.

      • They are at Walmart in Florida. You will find them by the fresh potatoes in produce. Price was $10.00. Haven’t tried yet. Looking to see how to set power at 75% on my micro wave.

  2. I would be interested in trying ONE of these, especially since they claim it works for corn on the cob too. Since I don’t need two, and refuse to pay the exorbitant shipping charge ($7 for EACH bag? Really?) I’ll just wait until they show up on the “as seen on TV” shelf at Walmart or Target.

  3. The book and bake bake says don not cook on high. But, it does not tell you what setting to use. CS said on setting lower than high.

  4. Not worth the money. Specifically says do not cook more than 4 minutes. Didn’t work tried 8 minutes.
    Finally had to use my steamer bags to cook a l

  5. Thanks for the helpful review.
    Here’s the 5 cents recipe without shipping and handling:
    Put the potato on a piece of kitchen tissue and make a few holes in the potato with a small kitchen knife.
    Don’t wrap it and put it in the microwave for 5 minutes on high for a big one.
    Take out and wrap the potato in aluminum foil like Reynolds Wrap.
    Leave it in for the time that you need to do the rest of the cooking (I do it sometimes for 1/2 hour or more) and enjoy a fully cooked and not dry potato!
    You have to play a little with microwave settings and time depending on your microwave and the size of the potato.
    And BTW, you can prepare at the same time as many patatos as fit in the microwave.

  6. My mother ordered this and we have not tried it yet….she ordered Oct 15th and we just got it today Nov 30th. So…therefore I hope this bag works since it took its sweet time getting here….note they did not ship it until Nov. 18th. ?????

  7. I found this at Bed, Bath and Beyond for $9.99. I noticed too that it says do not cook on High but did not say what temperature is correct. Anyone that cooked one, what setting on your microwave did you use?

  8. My son saw the commercial for this and fell in love with it. He decided that he wanted to get one for my Mother and Father in Law for our St. Nick’s celebration. I ordered a Potato Express and ended up ordering 4 because the site is so confusing. Once you order, there are like 10 other screens that pop up asking about ordering more and adding more and adding a tortilla warmer ect. Anyway, the four I ended up ordering I figured was fine as we planned on keeping one and giving the rest as gifts. I had no idea how long it would take to receive the item, but I had a month between order date and the date in which I needed it. AFTER I placed the order, I received a confirmation indicating that I should allow for 2-3 weeks for delivery. That time frame still worked. After 3 1/2 weeks, I still haven’t received the product so I called today. They told me it was going to be at least another week before it shipped and probably at least 2 weeks before I received it. I need it in 3 days. So I said that I needed to cancel the order. He quickly said, “OK, it’s cancelled, anything else?” Like it was not even a concern to him that there was an unhappy customer and he just wanted to move along to the next dollar. Too bad. My 8 year old son will be upset as he was so excited about giving the gift that he picked out.

  9. Terrible, does not work. You can accomplish same thing w/o this item. Definately not a time saver.

  10. Hint: Very easy to make these yourself. I sew and just finished about 15 of them using leftover fabric in my closet and cotton batting. Be sure to use COTTON, or you risk the fire others have mentioned. If you don’t sew, ask a friend who does – very simple to make.

  11. Be forewarned….all TV offers of this type have these overcharges. I’m sure they’re prepacked in 2s so you can’t order 1, thus the moneymaker of double S & H. Get smart America !!!

  12. Suzanne Sheridan // December 11, 2013 at 10:19 am // Reply

    Terrible service. Order confirmation said 2 to 3 weeks to receive order. Impossible to contact customer service by phone. The number now refers you to a foreign country trying to sell you a Walmart gift card and requiring my credit card number. When I asked for a direct customer service number to check the status, they gave me the number for information 800-555-1212 and hung up.

  13. Terri Hamilton // December 13, 2013 at 4:57 am // Reply

    I use ziploc steams and they work great you can also use them for fish and veggies after reading these reviews have decided not to get the potato express sounds like another as seen on tv joke .the skins on the potato isn’t crispy in the ziploc but its fluffy and moist the way i like it.Besides the ziploc have a few recipes in every box and different food uses and I can buy lots of boxes for the costs of that express

  14. Don’t work; waste of money. Returned the item for a refund.

  15. This SO does not work, after 10 minutes,there are still hard uncooked places throughout the potato.fyi, using a brown paper sack will accomplish the same thing for that time but be fully cooked . 4 minutes didn’t even cook one potato fully and in no way can u fit 4 regular size potatoes in there, you have to use very small potatoes. I think it was a huge disappointment.

  16. Meri Bunsold // February 15, 2014 at 1:22 pm // Reply

    We bought ours at Walgreens and LOVE it ! I am retty surprised at all the negative comments about it! A large potato does take about five minutes but comes out delicious ! I’ve had great luck with mine, it was worth it !! Trying corn on the cobb tonight :)

  17. Renate Schoenberg // March 7, 2014 at 9:43 am // Reply

    I bought mine yesterday at Bed Bath and Beyond for $10 minus a 20% off coupon. No S&H. They warn you not to cook on high power, but that’s confusing because new Microwaves run at 1200 watts and my old one runs at 700, so what’s right. They give directions in their little leaflet and tell you to bake with the flap DOWN, but in the picture on the front of the packaging it shows the flap UP. It looks like the idiots in the company wrote the directions.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

*