Reviews

Secret Extensions Reviews: Are They Worth It? (April 2015 Update)

Secret Extensions Reviews: Are They Worth It? (April 2015 Update)
Sponsored links

Secret Extensions are hair extensions which can be worn as easily as putting on a headband. The product is pitched by Daisy Fuentes, and it is said to blend better than, and remove easier than, traditional hair extensions. Read my Secret Extensions reviews after evaluating it with two testers.

Sponsored links

About Secret Extensions

Secret Extensions are hair extensions advertised on television by spokeswoman Daisy Fuentes. Unlike traditional removable extensions which use clips, Secret Extensions use a “revolutionary patented headband” which is designed for easy application and removal. This plastic, flexible headband fits over the head and can be disguised by pulling some hair over it. The extensions are made from an “all new keratin conditioned fiber that moves like, feels like, and looks like the real thing.” The length of Secret Extensions is moderate, at 16 inches long.

Secret Extensions can be found in some stores as of April 2015. I found them at a local KMart in the As Seen on TV section for $39.99.

The official website is secretextensions.com, which was registered in August 2012. The official Facebook page was created in December 2013. Another website used for online advertising is hairsecret.com.

How much do Secret Extensions cost?

Secret Extensions cost $39.99 plus $6.99 shipping for a total cost of $46.98. You can add additional sets for $29.99 each with no additional shipping.

You may encounter some early reviews and commercials for the product which state the price is $29.99. It would appear they have since raised the price, or that they are only advertising the cost of the second set.

There is a 30-day money back guarantee. An additional $10 charge added to orders sent to Canada, Guam, Puerto Rico, Hawaii, US Virgin Islands, and Alaska.

As stated above, you can now find Secret Extensions in some stores for about $40.

Colors available

  • Light brown
  • Medium brown
  • Dark brown
  • Black/Brown (not pure black)
  • Light golden blonde
  • Medium golden blonde
  • Dark golden blonde
  • Dark blonde
  • Red blonde
  • Light red brown
  • Medium red brown

Black/brown is the darkest shade, and you can’t purchase pure, jet black as of this writing. Secret Extensions cannot be dyed.

As Seen on TV Commercial

Below is a television commercial for Secret Extensions, uploaded in January 2014:

Transcript of the television commercial:

Hi, I’m Daisy Fuentes. People always comment on how great my hair looks. Well, you know what? I’ve got a secret. You can get up close, you can touch and feel it, and you’d never know. My secret? Secret Extensions, the invisible hair extensions that give your hair thick natural looking volume and length in seconds. It’s more hair that’s ready to wear. Just look at the instant difference Secret Extensions makes.

“I can’t believe this is my hair. It looks amazing.”

“Oh my gosh, I look so glamorous. I love it.”

“It looks amazing. It looks really awesome.”

The secret is the revolutionary headband which is completely invisible. Slip it on like a headband and pull your own hair over. It’s adjustable so it fits every head beautifully without any bumps or ridges. You get thicker, fuller, longer hair in seconds.

“So it’s like a headband. I just put it up. It’s crazy.”

“My hair’s dramatically longer.”

Secret Extensions are made of an all-new keratin-conditioned fiber that moves like, feels like, and looks like the real thing. And the best part is Secret Extensions are available in different colors to perfectly blend into your hair.

“It feels perfect. It feels like my actual hair.”

“I cannot see where my hair ends. I love it and it blends right in perfectly.”

You can wash, trim, straighten, and curl your Secret Extensions. Give yourself long, loose waves, a trendy fishtail braid, or a high-fashion pony instantly. Secret Extensions are completely secure. You can trust them to stay put from busy days to crazy nights. Hair extensions at the salon can cost as much as $500, but you can get Secret Extensions today for just $29.99. Secret Extensions are guaranteed to perfectly blend into your hair or your money back. Get the hair you’ve always dreamed of with Secret Extensions. Call or log on at secretextensions.com.

Slow Delivery

Perhaps the biggest complaint found in online reviews is in regards to slow shipping. Some consumers have stated that they waited months to receive Secret Extensions. We placed our order in mid-January 2014 and received it in early April, which is slightly outside of their stated 4-6 week shipping window.

It would also appear that these initial shipping complaints came as the product was initially being rolled out. Later online reviewers do not express the same frustration with shipping as earlier reviewers.

Sponsored Links

My Secret Extensions Review

Although many initial customers complained of glacially-slow delivery (if at all), we received our Secret Extensions a little over two months after ordering. Below are some pros and cons I found in my evaluation of the product with two testers.

In late 2014 a similar product called Secret Color began advertising. These are colored extensions marketed to teens and young women, but works with a similar headband.

Pros

  • Application is simple. You simply place it over your head like a headband and pull some underlying hair over it to hide the band.
  • Hair looks fuller and longer, and the extensions blend in with most hair colors and types.
  • Styling Secret Extensions is similar to styling real hair. Some users have said the best method is to lay them flat when styling to achieve the best results.
  • My testers gave the product overall good marks in comparison to regular clip-on extensions.

Cons

  • Headband. The “revolutionary” headband feels like a simple piece of elastic, and it’s unclear how long this will hold up with extended use. It can tend to feel loose, which will result in constant adjusting. If the elastic breaks, there is no recourse but to buy a new set.
  • Blending. Although solid colors blend well, those with streaked or highlights may find difficulty in finding a color to blend naturally.
  • Slow delivery. As noted above, the biggest complaint with this product is related to ordering and delivery problems. This could sour some customer opinions on the product before receiving it. It also appears that slow delivery complaints were more prevalent in the early months of the product’s life.
  • Some readers have reported that they found the headband to be visible after putting on the extensions. This could be affected by several factors, such as hair type and the skill of the person attempting to blend the band with the hair around it.
  • Those with thick, full hair may find the extensions to be on the thin side in comparison with their own hair. Many consumers have stated that it takes multiple extensions to achieve the full look shown in the advertising.
  • Quality. The quality of Secret Extensions has been addressed. Some customers felt that they seemed “cheap” compared to higher quality extensions.
  • Return policy. You can only return the product unopened. Most consumers will not know if they want to return the product until after they’ve opened it.

Beware of fake reviews

If you’ve looked for Secret Extensions reviews online, you have probably seen several glowing endorsements which end with “click here to order yours!” Reviews like these are often affiliate marketers, and do not seem genuine if the reviewer stands to make money off of the product.

History

The Google Trends chart below shows the history of searches for Secret Extensions. As you can see, interest in the product peaked in July 2014, but continues to surge in early 2015.

Bottom Line

My testers gave Secret Extensions moderate results, although the product was initially plagued by slow shipping. Now that you can find the product in stores, this would be the best way to obtain it in order to avoid shipping costs and delays. Not all reader reviews reflect our initial observations, with the product receiving mixed opinions at best.

Read my follow-up observations after my testers tried Secret Extensions for two additional months in my supplemental review of Secret Extensions.

Your Secret Extensions Reviews

Have you used Secret Extensions? Give us your Secret Extensions reviews in the comments below.

Leer este artículo en español

Updated April 1, 2015
Originally published April 2014

Reviews
@accroya

James White specializes in internet hoaxes, travel, product reviews, and social media.

More in Reviews

Celebrating the weird and fake since 2008.

Copyright © 2008-2016 Wafflesatnoon.com, Inc. Theme by MVP Themes, powered by Wordpress.