Ankle Genie Reviews: Does it Work? (Dec. 2014 Update)

Ankle Genie is a zip-up compression sleeve which is advertised as a way to reduce foot and ankle pain or fatigue. Have you tried Ankle Genie? We want to hear from you.

Sponsored links


About Ankle Genie

Compression garments are a hot commodity in recent years, not only for athletes, but for people with chronic pain. In 2014, the airwaves were filled with a variety of compression garments such as Tommie Copper, Copper Fit, Miracle Socks, BeActive Brace, Foot Angel Рand Ankle Genie.

Ankle Genie is marketed by TeleBrands, also known for Pocket Hose, Stone Wave Microwave Cooker, Hurricane Mop, and countless others. It is a zip-up compression sleeve designed to relieve sore ankles.

Two different websites have been used in the advertising of Ankle Genie: anklegenie.com, which was registered on November 21, 2013, and buyanklegenie.com, which was registered in February 2014. As of December 2014, it appears that anklegenie.com is the website being used in television advertising.

Here is the Ankle Genie website as seen in December 2013. It remains unchanged as of December 2014:

ankle-genie-splash

How much does Ankle Genie cost?

Ankle Genie costs $12.99 plus $6.99 shipping for a total of $19.98. You are given the option to add a second Ankle Genie “free” for another $6.99 shipping, bringing your total to $26.97.

Ankle Genie can now be purchased in stores such as Bed Bath and Beyond for about $13.

Note on upselling
If you order Ankle Genie by phone, the salesperson will attempt to sell other products to you. While some consumers don’t mind this sales tactic, it can be seen as a nuisance to others.

Below is a television commercial for Ankle Genie which has been airing as recently as December 2014.

Our Ankle Genie Reviews

Sponsored Links


When we first evaluated Ankle Genie in early 2014, it was a relatively new product. In the ensuing months, it has been made widely available in stores, and consumer reviews for the product are frequent.

On Amazon, users rate the product 2 out of 5 stars. There appears to be a stark division among reviewers, with some reporting that it works as advertised, and others who feel it didn’t work or claim that it was not durable.

Other review sites tend to have a negatively-skewed rating due to those who ordered the product when it was first marketed. Many of these consumers complained about the shipping and returns process, more than the merits of the product itself. After the product became locally available, many of the complaints regarding shipping ended.

Some consumers have reported that the zipper broke easily. We did not experience this, but it is a concern worth mentioning.

Another concern regarding Ankle Genie is that of sizing. Although it is billed as a one size fits all product, those with foot sizes at either extreme of the spectrum have reported that the fit did not feel optimal.

As with any compression garment, consumers should have realistic expectations. Mild to moderate relief is about what can be expected, and any underlying chronic condition will not be addressed by this type of product.

History

The Google Trends chart below shows interest in Ankle Genie, which peaked in January 2014.

Bottom Line

We found Ankle Genie to be comfortable and generally performed as advertised. Those with larger feet may find it to be a much tighter fit, which could be uncomfortable. This discrepancy in sizing may lead to very different experiences for people based on the size of their feet. This could partially explain the vast array of reviews available for the product.

Now that the product is available locally, you would be best advised to pick it up from a local retailer in order to facilitate any returns, and avoid shipping costs.

Your Turn

Have you used Ankle Genie? Let us hear from you in the comments below.

Updated December 19, 2014
Originally published December 2013

Sponsored links




7 Comments on Ankle Genie Reviews: Does it Work? (Dec. 2014 Update)

  1. Diane Scott // April 10, 2014 at 10:51 pm // Reply

    Zipper broke second time I put it on. Also even though I was told I’d get one for both right and left ankle…they are both made for the right ankle. I put them on while ankles were swollen and they didnt help. Once swelling went down they felt better but the zipper did break on one. Tried to reach Ankle Genie website since I ordered online. That website no longer exisits. I plan to go to my drug store and ask thier advice on compression socks I can wear with shoes for travel, etc. Ankle Genie was a waste of money in every way!

  2. Rowan Halfacre // April 2, 2014 at 4:37 pm // Reply

    My freind bought two of these for me and you charged her for three (you did send three however she only wanted to buy two).
    When I put it on the third time the zipper broke and I don’t find a nuber of where to call. Should I send it back to the address it came from? Please let me know what to do.
    Thank You So Much

  3. gina tillie // March 2, 2014 at 2:22 pm // Reply

    This is not one size fits all I cant even get over my foot

    So how can you say one size fits all I just waisted 12 dollars on this I cant even use it.

    Gina

  4. Today i saw an add on the TV about the anklegeney.com i wanted to order
    because i feel cold ankle feet and ordered the product they charged me over $27 after reading the customers comments which was negative i wanted to conceled the order now please be aware that not charging me
    if you have any question call me on my cell XXX XXX XXXX unfortunately the customers can not reach you guys it is bad policy.

  5. Valeria Hurlocker // January 28, 2014 at 12:08 pm // Reply

    I received 2 ankle genies and liked it, however, the zipper on the first one broke the second time I put it on and the second one lasted about 2 weeks before it also broke. Good concept, but poor quality. I have gone on line to try to get the return address for returning these braces, but can’t get past the order desk.

  6. Order went OK and received in about 2 weeks, was not the same product that they show on TV. Was made totally different with 2 straps. so there is no way you could put a shoe over it, and was really hard to get on .

  7. Too bad you already ordered but it is very unlikely you will ever receive it. I ordered online Oct 18 2013. Luckily my card was not charged at the time. Received an Email saying would ship in 2-3 weeks. It never came. On Dec 27, 2013, I received a postcard saying “Thx for te recent order but it was on back order and would ship in 3-4 weeks”. On Jan 24, 2014, I received another postcard that said “we cannot ship your product at this time so we canceled your order”. So they can’t fulfill the orders but they still show the commercials and you can still place an order on their website that states orders ship in 3-6 weeks (which obviously is not a true statement).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

*



three + 7 =