NoNo Pro Review: Does it Really Work? (Updated 11/2014)

NoNo Pro is advertised as a painless and effective hair removal product which is superior to traditional shaving. Read our NoNo Pro reviews from editors and readers.

Sponsored links


About NoNo Pro

NoNo Pro is a hair removal system which uses a heated wire and a process called pulsed Thermicon Technology. This is different from laser hair removal. Long-term use of the product is said to result in hair which grows back thinner and finer. The official FAQ states, however, that if you stop using NoNo Pro “hair may eventually return to its previous pattern.” The company responded to a comment below and noted that results are “not permanent.”

The official website is nonopro.com, which was registered on February 7, 2013. When this review was first posted in November 2013, the original NoNo was still being advertised at trynono.com, which was registered on July 31, 2008. That site now only appears to sell the NoNo Pro 3 model.

NoNo Pro comes in 4 colors. The Pro3 is available in pink, turquoise, and a limited edition “Spring Bloom” color. The Pro5 (if it is still available) comes in a platinum color.

How Much Does NoNo Pro Cost?

The original NoNo costs about $285, but no longer appears to be available. There are now two “Pro” models:

  • Pro3: 3 payments of $96.65 + $14.95 shipping, for a total of $304.90
  • Pro5: 3 payments of $103.31 + $14.95 shipping, for a total of $324.90

NoNo 8800 vs NoNo Pro

The Pro version of NoNo is said to have 35% more power than the original, which they say will allow you to “remove coarse and thick hair more effectively than ever before.” The new version also has a status screen, a more comfortable grip, and their “new patented Pulsed Thermicon technology.”

NoNo Pro3 vs NoNo Pro5

As of November 2014, the Pro5 has been largely removed from the official NoNo Pro website. There is no way to place it in the cart, and the only mention of it is in text in the footer.

The primary difference between the Pro3 and Pro5 models is the number of settings. Pro3 has three treatment levels, and the Pro5 have five treatment levels.

nono pro website november 2014

This is a screenshot of the NoNo Pro website in November 2014.

This is the official NoNo Pro website, captured in November 2013.

This is how the official NoNo Pro website looked in November 2013.

Our NoNo Pro Review

We had several testers try out a NoNo Pro unit in late 2013, and the overall consensus was that it was not superior to shaving or waxing. Our testers also reported a distinct smell of burning hair while using the unit. Although it is claimed that NoNo Pro works for all hair types, we found that it worked better on fine than coarse hair. Those with finer, lighter hair reported slightly better results than those with thick, coarse hair. Our testers did not feel that their skin was completely smooth or stubble-free while using the product, a sentiment that has been echoed by other online reviews. Another concern which is not often mentioned is the time investment. Each session may require more time and patience than some consumers expect.

NoNo Pro is billed as painless, but we found the product does provide a sensation that, to some, could be described as painful. This sensation varies based on the user’s pain threshold. Some testers describe it is prickly, while we also heard complaints that it created a burning sensation.

There is a sound emitted while using the unit. We did not find it to be unacceptable, but some readers have expressed the opinion that it was too loud.

There is a certain amount of time, patience, and technique required to use NoNo Pro effectively. It would appear that in the case of some reviewers, impatience and proper technique may have led them to form a negative impression of the product.

Other NoNo Pro Reviews

Sponsored Links


Consumer Reports reviewed the NoNo 8800 in their December 2013 issue. None of their six testers said their legs felt hair-free or stubble-free during a six-week trial, and none “said they’d want to buy the device.”

On Amazon, as of November 27, 2014, 67% of reviewers ranked it one star (397 out of 596 total). Only 10.7% ranked it five stars (64 out of 596 reviews).

Trends Report

The Google Trends chart below shows the history of searches for NoNo Pro. It appears to have had its biggest surges in November 2013, April 2014, and July 2014.

Conclusion

We did not find NoNo Pro to be as effective as the advertising would lead us to believe, nor did we find it to be superior to other hair removal systems on the market. There are far too many user complaints to be ignored, and our tests confirmed that the product does not work for everyone.

You may be interested in our comparison of the NoNo Pro with two other popular at-home hair removal systems.

Your NoNo Pro Reviews

Have you tried NoNo or NoNo Pro? Give us your review in the comments below.

Originally published November 22, 2013
Revised November 27, 2014

Sponsored links




  • Debbie

    I bought the 8800 nono hair machine about 3 months ago and I would say its just as effective as shaving or waxing, as you guys say.

    But its better in the sense that I’m not having to go to the waxing salon every couple weeks – so I’m saving time and money there – plus it’s just so much easier to deal with this in the privacy of my own bathroom without some stranger looking at all my private areas and plus its WAY less painful than waxing.

    Anyone who waxes will know that the nono is much better – if for nothing else, the fact that its so much less painful. I bought the nono machine through their site here and it also had some good facts about it that I stumbled across while doing some pre-buy research

  • w k

    Well This obviously wasnt written by the manufacturer!!! HA!!;););)

  • Darlene Richardson

    Is the 8800 No No the same as the NoNoPro5? I am still going to try this machine. I don’t have an alternative. I did electrolysis, waxing, tweezing, hair removal creams. Nothing is a perfect science. I will give it a try and utilize the refund if I am not satisfied.

    • waffles

      No, these are different units. The 8800 is basically the “regular” model, while the Pro5 is advertised as their strongest unit.

      • Stacy Heiler

        I bought the pro 5 and as their strongest unit it is ineffective at eliminating the hair and it takes forever to use.

  • No No Hair removal

    I have the NoNo but still find myself using other hair removal methods too. I wouldn’t recommend it. Depilatories are good for arms and legs. Threading is best for the facial area.

  • Katherine

    I bought the original Nono and its useless. I still had to shave after hours of using Nono. It’s a waste of time and money sorry to say.

  • Steve

    Sucks. I’d rather pay my wife to pull the hairs out.

  • Peggy

    I purchased the no no Pro and used it trying to get rid of upper lip hair,it did not do very well on the coarse hair, burned my skin and I tried to return an spoke to JASON X303 – he told me to try it a little longer and call back Dec. 19th if wanted to return it, I did and spoke to Diana ex. 387 and she told me my 60 days were up prior to the Dec. 19th date, I told her what Jason had told me and she told me to call back later in the week, after they had gone back and listened to calls and she would let me know. Well I could not get same person and was they must be in California and my 60 days were up, nothing they can do. Jason tricked me into waiting too long. DO NOT Purchase this product. bad, bad customer service.

    • RJB

      Sue them. Jason made a new contract with you by telling you that you could still return after his prescribed waiting period…. or even suggesting you should wait a determined time frame implies that they are extending your trial period.

    • Thersa

      I had the pro for about a month and would of been more successful if I could of used my teeth to hank out the hairs. Called and they gave me the same treatment 3/6 BUT I insisted on them sending me a RMA # in an email, she kept telling me to wait another 30 days, I told her hell no. The email arrived, followed the instructions in the email. Was told to call them with the tracking number and they would stop any further payments and refund what I already paid, EXCEPT they would not return the return postage which was $18.00 In the email it claimed that the refund would be after 2 working business days, I waited 3 days after seeing they received it and called Thursday, the lady took the tracking number said she’d check on the return but I’d have to wait 10 working days. The line went dead! Called back and got a guy and he claimed if it showed they received it, he would refund me immediately. He came back on the line, said he sent in the refund to our debit card. BUT it may take the bank 3 days to credit the account. So as long as I get the refund, I’ll eat the $18.00. I would suggest calling back and request to speak to a supervisor and let them know how dissatisfied you are being lied to. Good luck!

  • azam

    I purchased a nono pro about 9 months ago and tried it over and over but it did not work at all. I tried returning it but the phone number no one would answer and the Email they sent was the wrong one. this nono pro is a total junk. The company, well i dont know. what do you think?

  • Ann

    Don’t waste your money. It is expensive and doesn’t work. Not on face, not under arms, not on legs, and nowhere else. You can get a nasty burn from it, too.

    • http://www.howtonono.com nonoCustomerService

      Hi Ann,

      We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t get your expected results from using no!no!. Rest assured that we’re here to help you.

      We have some questions for us to know how to assist you further.

      a) What nono device are you using?
      b) What thermicon tip have you purchased?
      c) How frequent do you nono?
      d) How long have you used nono?

      We’re excited to talk to you and help you get the result that you want. Thanks a lot

      Best Regards,

      no!no! Customer Service

  • john baker

    I would like to try the no no pro on Myer extremities where I have been shaving from time to time
    If it turns out to hurt or burn my ears after trialling can I return it for a refund
    Thank you john

  • nono

    I bought the previous model and it did not work as well as I would have liked. I have been using creams, shaving, sprays with much better results. I would like to try this latest model. I hate hair on my body and as a male I take a lot of static about it. My Last GF also hated hair on me too. if I do get one of these i’ll post my findings?

  • hank n

    I do FDA regulatory, and can assure you that there is no science that provesthis product works. For customers who have purchased, and received burning sensations, please report then to the FDA. It only takes a moment, and they have been allowed to raise the power of their led without trial’s. I had a customer with a predicate devise, and after referencing clinical, advised them to discontinue p production because of a high risk of liability. Note..product in made in China, which does not regulate cosmetic devices. The US does. Make sure it has an FDA Clarence ,(not recommendation, as the do not recommend any products).

    • Joan

      Please learn how to write.

  • shelley

    WARNING!!! You wasted your money. Like so many of us did
    This no no company should do what is right and refund everyone.
    No no SUCKS. It DOES NOT work.
    Now company’s just lie about their stupid products to get your money.
    This is a FACT!!! Don’t buy it. Save your money.

  • SteveS

    Nono customer service is one of the worst experiences I have ever encountered. Their staff are like robots and don’t take responsibility in serving their clients. They read off of a script and they stick to it. They lie and disrespect their clients. I would NEVER recommend their products to anyone even if they worked or were the next best thing since sliced bread. Having call center experience for over 12 years I can tell you this is not a way to run a company. They put their company first over their clients. I could go on for hours about this but I think enough has been said DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY, YOU WILL THROWING YOUR MONEY DOWN THE TOILET!!!!!!!!!

  • Matt

    Almost every negative review that I’ve seen involves at least one step done incorrectly. If it burned you, you are operating it WRONG; follow directions. Or there are the people that are like “after doing it for 30 days, I HAVE ZERO RESULTS.”

    Well, duh, you’re supposed to do six weeks. And even then, you’ll see probably minor gains (it’s not supposed to magically erase hair like some people purport it to be able to do), provided you’ve done it the two to three times a week that you’re supposed to do it.

    My girlfriend and I did it, and I had decent results. The problem, as most people probably have, is sticking to consistently doing it. People rarely have the patience to maintain. But in my instance, you won’t see me bashing a company because of it.

    • http://www.howtonono.com nonoCustomerService

      Hi Matt,

      We appreciate your feedback and we’d like to let you know that your review will really help our customers to understand how no!no! works. Happy nono-ing!

      Best Regards,

      no!no! Customer Service

  • Jason

    When a buyer makes purchases with their credit card, they can always contact the credit card company and mention that the product (in this case NoNo) does not work. The credit card companies tend to favor the consumers. This is one way to get money back Since NoNo customer services socks and does not accept returns as advertised

    • http://www.howtonono.com nonoCustomerService

      Hi Jason,

      Thanks for giving out options on the refund process. However, we still suggest calling our Customer Service Department and request for an RMA number so we can process the refund. Our customers are backed up with a 60-day money back guarantee and we stick to that promise.

      All the Best,

      no!no! Customer Service

  • James

    I have used the No NO for 6 weeks exactly the way the directions say to use it. I used it on thick hair and in a large area. I can tell you that this are is not hairLESS. This means while the hair does grow back, it grows back thinner, lighter and much easier to manage. Moreover, I do lightly shave before I use the no no because the hair is so thick, but, I burn the shorter hairs and now, much less hair is growing and I am bare where I want to be and I don’t have to shave all the time. I am persistent and not lazy like the people on here who expect magic results with no effort.

    Buy the No NO if you have patience and it will give you remarkable results. USE THE CREAM, use the pads and do everything the instructions tell you to do. You will soon see that your hair is going away longer and when it does grow, it’s no where near as thick or healthy. You are basically killing it slowly. Now I have hardly any growth and what is coming back is very very light and thin.

    • http://www.howtonono.com nonoCustomerService

      Hi James,

      Thank you for sharing your no!no! experience with us and we appreciate you giving tips on using no!no! If you have any concerns, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us.

      All the Best,

      no!no! Customer Service

  • Renee

    I purchased the nono pro, and had a good experience with customer service, however, that was the ONLY good experience. It took three weeks for delivery, due to bad weather, according to the representatives, and when I got the nono, the large thermicon tip didn’t work, because the very flimsy wire that burns the hair was bent. I was supposed to get the hair reducing cream, but it was not included. So, I used the smaller tip instead, and started on my legs…. What a nightmare! They recommend starting on the lowest level, but that didn’t remove ANY HAIR WHATSOEVER, regardless of how many passes I made. I had to use the highest setting, and even then, I had to make about fifteen passes to remove the hair! The nono says to only make four! Even THEN, it didn’t remove ALL the hair, just cut it in half basically. So, you have to use this buffer VERY aggressively in order for it to remove your hair, which leftlegs feeling raw and very dry. It took me 4 HOURS to do both legs, but I’m a big girl, so I would imagine if I were a much smaller woman, it might have taken two hours, which is still a ridiculous amount of time! I tried my face next, thinking I’d have better luck, but the nono is not shaped well enough to fit below your nostrils, and going over my chin was a total pain. Actually, every second using the nono was a total pain! I knew the very first day that this product wasn’t for me. The hair started growing back the very next day. I called the reps, and spent thirty minutes on the phone listening to how I was doing it wrong. When I asked why it didn’t remove all the hair, why I could still feel stubble, I was told, “It won’t remove all the hair, because the wire can’t touch your skin, or else it’ll burn you.” Then why the hell did I pay 300 bucks for this thing?? I had to wait 45 days to return it in order to get return shipping waived, and it took a week to get back to them. I followed my tracking number, and the same day it was in their office, I called and they immediately put in an order for my refund, which I received two business days later. I don’t care if my hair grows back finer and more slowly, if I have to go through that experience for MONTHS before I even see results, it’s not worth it. This product would be great if you found it for 9.99 in the bargain bin at Walmart. I also never got my large thermicon tip and cream, because it was mailed to the wrong address, and if you’re not careful, the nono WILL burn your skin, especially in areas where skin is a little loose or folds, though the pain was slight. The commercial was soooo misleading! Shame on you, NONO.

    • http://www.howtonono.com nonoCustomerService

      Hi Renee,

      We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with the results of your no!no!. Thanks also for sharing your experience with us as this will help us improve our service.

      We just want to clarify that the no!no! works with a patented Thermicon Technology which uses the science of heat to treat the hair. The reason we ask you use the no!no! for 60 days is to be able to give it a chance to work for you. Most of our customers see results by using the no!no! 2-3 times a week to begin and then have to use it less from there. Just like any product, the no!no! takes time, and is not permanent, but provides long-lasting results. It takes time and patience to get the results that you want. We hope this helps.

      All the Best,
      no!no! Customer Service

  • http://www.howtonono.com nonoCustomerService

    Hi Ang,

    Thanks for writing in. Radiancy, the maker of no!no!, is currently registered with FDA and we make sure that we comply with all the legal and medical requirements. This is to assure our buyers that our products are safe and effective.

    All the Best,

    no!no! Customer Service