Reviews

NoNo Pro Review: Does it Really Work? (December 2015 Update)

NoNo Pro Review: Does it Really Work? (December 2015 Update)
Sponsored links

NoNo Pro is advertised as a painless and effective hair removal product which is superior to traditional shaving. Read our NoNo Pro reviews from editors and readers.

Sponsored links

About NoNo Pro

NoNo Pro is a hair removal system which uses a heated wire along with a process called pulsed Thermicon Technology, which is different than standard laser hair removal. Long-term use of the product is said to result in hair which grows back thinner and finer. The official FAQ states, however, that if you stop using NoNo Pro “hair may eventually return to its previous pattern.” The company responded to a comment below and confirmed that results are “not permanent.”

NoNo Pro comes with two tips: wide and narrow. The wide tip is designed for large non-sensitive areas, while the narrow tip is meant to be used on sensitive areas, including the face. After using the NoNo on your face, it is suggested to use their Buffer or an exfoliating cream “to remove crystallized hair.”

According to the official FAQ, the device can be used “everywhere except breasts and genitals.” You are recommended to use the product 2 to 3 times per week for the first few months, and then only as needed.

The official website is nonopro.com, which was registered on February 7, 2013. When this review was first posted in November 2013, the original NoNo was still being advertised at trynono.com, which was registered on July 31, 2008. That site now only offers the NoNo Pro 3 model until the order page, where one can upgrade to the Pro5 model.

NoNo Pro currently comes in 3 colors: pink, turquoise, and platinum. In early 2015 a limited edition “Spring Bloom” color was briefly offered.

The company claims to have sold 6 million units.

How Much Does NoNo Pro Cost?

The original NoNo was about $285, but no longer appears to be available on the official website. There were Pro3 and Pro5 models available for purchase, but now it is simply called “Pro” which is available for one payment of $249.99 or three payments of $83.33.

A “Pro5” version has appeared occasionally on the NoNo Pro website, but as of December 2015, only the Pro3 is featured (and the number “3” is no longer used).

The image below shows a NoNo (non-pro version) display at a Bed Bath and Beyond in Las Vegas in December 2014. The cost of the product was $269.99.

nono pro display at bed bath and beyond

This is a NoNo (non-Pro version) display at a Bed Bath and Beyond in December 2014.

There is a 60-day money back guarantee, which would be sufficient time for most consumers to determine if the product is right for them. Because shipping is free, you don’t have to worry about the trap of non-refundable shipping costs.

NoNo 8800 vs NoNo Pro

The Pro version of NoNo is said to have 35% more power than the original, which they say will allow you to “remove coarse and thick hair more effectively than ever before.” The new version also has a status screen, a more comfortable grip, and their “new patented Pulsed Thermicon technology.”

NoNo Pro3 vs NoNo Pro5

By mid-2015, the Pro5 model was largely removed from the official NoNo Pro website. In mid-2015 it was still on the order page, where your NoNo could be upgraded “for an additional $20.” By late 2015 that, too, was completely removed, although it is still mentioned on the product FAQ.

The primary difference between the Pro3 and Pro5 models was the number of settings. Pro3 has three treatment levels, while the Pro5 has five treatment levels. There did not appear to be any difference between the maximum power of the Pro3 vs the Pro5. You may still find the Pro5 on sale at Amazon or eBay from third party vendors.

This is the official NoNo Pro website, captured in November 2013.

This is how the official NoNo Pro website looked in November 2013.

Our NoNo Pro Review

We had several testers try out a NoNo Pro unit in late 2013, and the overall consensus was that it was not superior to shaving or waxing. Our testers also reported a distinct smell of burning hair while using the unit. Although the advertising claims that NoNo Pro works for all hair types, we found that it worked better on fine than coarse hair. Those with finer hair reported slightly better results than those with thick, coarse hair. This could simply be related to coarse hair being more resilient against the heated wire.

Our testers did not feel that their skin was completely smooth or stubble-free while using the product, a sentiment which has been echoed by other online reviews. Another concern which is not often mentioned by some reviewers is the time investment. Each session may require more time and patience than some consumers are willing to invest. A session of treating your legs with NoNo Pro, for example, will probably take significantly longer than shaving the old fashioned way.

NoNo Pro is billed as painless, but we found the product does provide a sensation that could be described as painful to some users. This sensation varies based on the user’s pain threshold. Some testers described it is prickly, while we also heard complaints that it was more of a burning sensation.

There is a also sound emitted while using the unit. We did not find it to be unacceptable, but some readers have expressed the opinion that it was too loud.

Sponsored Links

There is a certain amount of time, patience, and technique required to use NoNo Pro effectively. It would appear that in the case of some reviewers, impatience and proper technique may have led them to form a negative impression of the product.

The fact that our testers had to repeatedly run the NoNo Pro over the same area, and that hair removal even in the best areas was only a few days, the consensus was that this method provided no discernible advantage over traditional shaving.

Television Commercial

Transcript of the commercial above:

“I’ve always seen No! No! on TV and I always wondered if it works. And it definitely, I can see what everybody talks about now.”

It’s not a razor, it’s not a lazer. It’s No! No! from Radiancy, the number one hair removal system in the world.

“There’s absolutely no pain.”

“Can’t believe the difference how it’s almost hair-free.”

No! No! gives you no hair with no pain!

“Well I saw it on TV and it said it was painless, right? And I really believe it. Now that I’m trying it, it feels completely painless.”

And now, No! No! is better than ever! Introducing the new No! No! Pro. It’s up to 35% more powerful! Imagine never having to shave again!

“I like a close shave, and it’s better than that! I mean, it’s gone!”

No more facial hair, no more embarrassment.

“I’ve always been self-conscious of my hairline, so putting my hair back, this will be perfect for me.”

And for the men in your life, there’s No! No! for him too!

“It looks like, just like you got a fresh wax but you don’t have to go through all the pain.”

Call now and we’ll send you the cordless No! No! Pro in your choice of colors! Featuring an LCD display, it comes with up to five treatment levels. Plus, we’ll include everything you need to get rid of your unwanted hair: a set of thermicon tips, specially designed for your face and body, a buffer pad to exfoliate and polish your skin.

Plus, act now, and we’ll send you the No! No! travel case as a free gift! And get this, you can try No! No! risk free for not 30 days, but 60 days, with our triple guarantee. If you’re not 100% satisfied, return it, and we’ll refund the purchase price, refund the shipping, and even pay the return postage.

Try No! No! risk free today!

“I need to get myself one of these right now.” “Absolutely!”

Other NoNo Pro Reviews

Consumer Reports reviewed the NoNo 8800 in their December 2013 issue. None of their six testers said their legs felt hair-free or stubble-free during a six-week trial, and none “said they’d want to buy the device.”

On Amazon, as of December 26, 2014, 66% of reviewers ranked it one star (414 out of 623 total). Only 10.9% ranked it five stars (68 out of 623 reviews). That product was later removed from the site. Current NoNo Pro models on Amazon rank around 2 to 2.5 stars.

On HSN, as of January 2016, NoNo Pro holds a 2-star rating among over 200 customer ratings. Over half of the ratings there are only 1 star.

Trends Report

The Google Trends chart below shows the history of searches for NoNo Pro. It appears to have had its biggest surges in November 2013, April 2014, and July 2014. By mid-2015 it would appear that the marketing for the NoNo reached a level of saturation and began receiving diminishing returns.

Conclusion

We did not find NoNo Pro to be as effective as the advertising would lead us to believe, nor did we find it to be superior to other hair removal systems on the market. There are far too many user complaints to be ignored, and our tests confirmed that the product does not work for everyone.

You may be interested in our comparison of the NoNo Pro with other popular at-home hair removal systems.

Your NoNo Pro Reviews

Have you tried NoNo or NoNo Pro? Give us your review in the comments below.

Updated December 3, 2015
Originally published November 2013

Sponsored links
Reviews

More in Reviews

Celebrating the weird and fake since 2008.

Copyright © 2008-2016 Wafflesatnoon.com, Inc. Theme by MVP Themes, powered by Wordpress.