NoNo Pro Review: Does it Really Work?

NoNo Pro is advertised as a painless and effective hair removal product which is superior to traditional shaving. Read our NoNo Pro reviews from editors and readers.

Sponsored links


About NoNo Pro

NoNo Pro is a hair removal system that uses a heated wire called “pulsed thermicon technology.” It is not laser hair removal. Long-term use of the product is said to lead to hair that grows back thinner and finer, although if you stop using NoNo Pro, the company FAQ notes that “hair may eventually return to its previous pattern.”

The official website is nonopro.com, which was registered on February 7, 2013. The original NoNo is also still advertised at trynono.com, which was registered on July 31, 2008.

NoNo Pro comes in 4 colors. The Pro3 is available in pink, turquoise, and a limited edition “Spring Bloom” color. The Pro5 is available in platinum.

How Much Does NoNo Pro Cost?

The original NoNo costs about $285. There are now two new “Pro” models:

  • Pro3: 3 payments of $96.65 + $14.95 shipping, for a total of $304.90
  • Pro5: 3 payments of $103.31 + $14.95 shipping, for a total of $324.90

NoNo 8800 vs NoNo Pro

The Pro version of NoNo is said to have 35% more power than the original, which they say will allow you to “remove coarse and thick hair more effectively than ever before.” The new version also has a status screen, a more comfortable grip, and their “new patented Pulsed Thermicon technology.”

NoNo Pro3 vs NoNo Pro5

The primary difference between the Pro3 and Pro5 models is the number of settings. Pro3 has three treatment levels, and the Pro5 have five treatment levels.

This is the official NoNo Pro website, captured in November 2013.

This is the official NoNo Pro website, captured in November 2013.

Our NoNo Pro Review

We had several testers try out a NoNo Pro unit, and the overall consensus is that it is not superior to shaving or waxing. Our testers reported a distinct smell of burning hair while using the unit. Although it is claimed that NoNo Pro works for all hair types, we found that it worked better on finer hair. Those with finer, lighter hair reported slightly better results than those with thick, coarse hair. There was never a sense that any of our testers felt their skin was completely smooth or stubble-free while using the product. Another concern not often mentioned is the time investment. Each session requires more time and patience than some consumers may expect.

NoNo Pro is billed as painless, but we found the product does provide a sensation that, to some, could be described as painful. This sensation varies based on the user’s pain threshold. Some testers describe it is prickly, while we also heard complaints that it created a burning sensation.

There is a sound emitted while using the unit. We did not find it to be unacceptable, but some readers have expressed the opinion that it was too loud.

There is a certain amount of time, patience, and technique required to use NoNo Pro effectively. It would appear that in the case of some reviewers, impatience and proper technique may have led them to form a negative impression of the product.

Other NoNo Pro Reviews

Sponsored Links


Consumer Reports reviewed the NoNo 8800 in their December 2013 issue. None of their six testers said their legs felt hair-free or stubble-free during a six-week trial, and none “said they’d want to buy the device.”

On Amazon, as of July 16, 2014, 66% of reviewers ranked it one star (344 out of 519 total). Only 10.2% ranked it five stars (53 out of 519 reviews).

Conclusion

We did not find NoNo Pro to be as effective as the advertising would lead us to believe. We did not find it to be superior to other hair removal systems on the market. There are far too many user complaints to be ignored, and our tests confirmed that the product does not work for everyone.

You may be interested in our comparison of the NoNo Pro with two other popular at-home hair removal systems.

Your NoNo Pro Reviews

Have you tried NoNo or NoNo Pro? Give us your review in the comments below.

Sponsored links




  • Debbie

    I bought the 8800 nono hair machine about 3 months ago and I would say its just as effective as shaving or waxing, as you guys say.

    But its better in the sense that I’m not having to go to the waxing salon every couple weeks – so I’m saving time and money there – plus it’s just so much easier to deal with this in the privacy of my own bathroom without some stranger looking at all my private areas and plus its WAY less painful than waxing.

    Anyone who waxes will know that the nono is much better – if for nothing else, the fact that its so much less painful. I bought the nono machine through their site here and it also had some good facts about it that I stumbled across while doing some pre-buy research

  • w k

    Well This obviously wasnt written by the manufacturer!!! HA!!;););)

  • Darlene Richardson

    Is the 8800 No No the same as the NoNoPro5? I am still going to try this machine. I don’t have an alternative. I did electrolysis, waxing, tweezing, hair removal creams. Nothing is a perfect science. I will give it a try and utilize the refund if I am not satisfied.

    • waffles

      No, these are different units. The 8800 is basically the “regular” model, while the Pro5 is advertised as their strongest unit.

      • Stacy Heiler

        I bought the pro 5 and as their strongest unit it is ineffective at eliminating the hair and it takes forever to use.

  • No No Hair removal

    I have the NoNo but still find myself using other hair removal methods too. I wouldn’t recommend it. Depilatories are good for arms and legs. Threading is best for the facial area.

  • Katherine

    I bought the original Nono and its useless. I still had to shave after hours of using Nono. It’s a waste of time and money sorry to say.

  • Steve

    Sucks. I’d rather pay my wife to pull the hairs out.

  • Peggy

    I purchased the no no Pro and used it trying to get rid of upper lip hair,it did not do very well on the coarse hair, burned my skin and I tried to return an spoke to JASON X303 – he told me to try it a little longer and call back Dec. 19th if wanted to return it, I did and spoke to Diana ex. 387 and she told me my 60 days were up prior to the Dec. 19th date, I told her what Jason had told me and she told me to call back later in the week, after they had gone back and listened to calls and she would let me know. Well I could not get same person and was they must be in California and my 60 days were up, nothing they can do. Jason tricked me into waiting too long. DO NOT Purchase this product. bad, bad customer service.

    • RJB

      Sue them. Jason made a new contract with you by telling you that you could still return after his prescribed waiting period…. or even suggesting you should wait a determined time frame implies that they are extending your trial period.

    • Thersa

      I had the pro for about a month and would of been more successful if I could of used my teeth to hank out the hairs. Called and they gave me the same treatment 3/6 BUT I insisted on them sending me a RMA # in an email, she kept telling me to wait another 30 days, I told her hell no. The email arrived, followed the instructions in the email. Was told to call them with the tracking number and they would stop any further payments and refund what I already paid, EXCEPT they would not return the return postage which was $18.00 In the email it claimed that the refund would be after 2 working business days, I waited 3 days after seeing they received it and called Thursday, the lady took the tracking number said she’d check on the return but I’d have to wait 10 working days. The line went dead! Called back and got a guy and he claimed if it showed they received it, he would refund me immediately. He came back on the line, said he sent in the refund to our debit card. BUT it may take the bank 3 days to credit the account. So as long as I get the refund, I’ll eat the $18.00. I would suggest calling back and request to speak to a supervisor and let them know how dissatisfied you are being lied to. Good luck!

      • SteveS

        I had the same problem with this company.

        Nono customer service is one of the worst experiences I have ever encountered. Their staff are like robots and don’t take responsibility in serving their clients. They read off of a script and they stick to it. They lie and disrespect their clients. I would NEVER recommend their products to anyone even if they worked or were the next best thing since sliced bread. Having call center experience for over 12 years I can tell you this is not a way to run a company. They put their company first over their clients. I could go on for hours about this but I think enough has been said DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY, YOU WILL THROWING YOUR MONEY DOWN THE TOILET!!!!!!!!!

  • azam

    I purchased a nono pro about 9 months ago and tried it over and over but it did not work at all. I tried returning it but the phone number no one would answer and the Email they sent was the wrong one. this nono pro is a total junk. The company, well i dont know. what do you think?

  • Ann

    Don’t waste your money. It is expensive and doesn’t work. Not on face, not under arms, not on legs, and nowhere else. You can get a nasty burn from it, too.

  • john baker

    I would like to try the no no pro on Myer extremities where I have been shaving from time to time
    If it turns out to hurt or burn my ears after trialling can I return it for a refund
    Thank you john

  • http://www.ask.com/answers/9117151/does-the-nono-hair-removal-system-work nono

    I bought the previous model and it did not work as well as I would have liked. I have been using creams, shaving, sprays with much better results. I would like to try this latest model. I hate hair on my body and as a male I take a lot of static about it. My Last GF also hated hair on me too. if I do get one of these i’ll post my findings?

  • hank n

    I do FDA regulatory, and can assure you that there is no science that provesthis product works. For customers who have purchased, and received burning sensations, please report then to the FDA. It only takes a moment, and they have been allowed to raise the power of their led without trial’s. I had a customer with a predicate devise, and after referencing clinical, advised them to discontinue p production because of a high risk of liability. Note..product in made in China, which does not regulate cosmetic devices. The US does. Make sure it has an FDA Clarence ,(not recommendation, as the do not recommend any products).

    • Joan

      Please learn how to write.

  • shelley

    WARNING!!! You wasted your money. Like so many of us did
    This no no company should do what is right and refund everyone.
    No no SUCKS. It DOES NOT work.
    Now company’s just lie about their stupid products to get your money.
    This is a FACT!!! Don’t buy it. Save your money.

    • makayla

      Its nor a food or drug so it does not have to be fda cleared.

  • SteveS

    Nono customer service is one of the worst experiences I have ever encountered. Their staff are like robots and don’t take responsibility in serving their clients. They read off of a script and they stick to it. They lie and disrespect their clients. I would NEVER recommend their products to anyone even if they worked or were the next best thing since sliced bread. Having call center experience for over 12 years I can tell you this is not a way to run a company. They put their company first over their clients. I could go on for hours about this but I think enough has been said DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY, YOU WILL THROWING YOUR MONEY DOWN THE TOILET!!!!!!!!!

  • Matt

    Almost every negative review that I’ve seen involves at least one step done incorrectly. If it burned you, you are operating it WRONG; follow directions. Or there are the people that are like “after doing it for 30 days, I HAVE ZERO RESULTS.”

    Well, duh, you’re supposed to do six weeks. And even then, you’ll see probably minor gains (it’s not supposed to magically erase hair like some people purport it to be able to do), provided you’ve done it the two to three times a week that you’re supposed to do it.

    My girlfriend and I did it, and I had decent results. The problem, as most people probably have, is sticking to consistently doing it. People rarely have the patience to maintain. But in my instance, you won’t see me bashing a company because of it.

  • Diane

    THE NO NO IS A NO NO……IT DOES NOT WORK….YES YOU SMELL THE HAIR BURNING WHICH IS AWFUL…BUT IT DOES NOT REMOVE ANY HAIR; SO I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IS BURNING….IN FACT THE HAIR IS GROWING IN THICKER ON MY CHIN…IT IS OVERPRICED…I TRIED IT FOR FUN ON MY ARMS LIKE YOU SEE IN THE COMMERCIAL; NOT ONE HAIR CAME OFF; SO THE GUY ON TV MUST HAVE SHAVED THAT AREA FIRST; THIS MACHINE IS JUNK AND IS A WASTE OF YOUR MONEY. AND HOW THEY GET AWAY WITH SHOWING IT SO PERFECT ON TV IS AMAZING. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND GO TO A SPA, RELAX AND GET A WAX JOB.

  • Jason

    When a buyer makes purchases with their credit card, they can always contact the credit card company and mention that the product (in this case NoNo) does not work. The credit card companies tend to favor the consumers. This is one way to get money back Since NoNo customer services socks and does not accept returns as advertised

  • James

    I have used the No NO for 6 weeks exactly the way the directions say to use it. I used it on thick hair and in a large area. I can tell you that this are is not hairLESS. This means while the hair does grow back, it grows back thinner, lighter and much easier to manage. Moreover, I do lightly shave before I use the no no because the hair is so thick, but, I burn the shorter hairs and now, much less hair is growing and I am bare where I want to be and I don’t have to shave all the time. I am persistent and not lazy like the people on here who expect magic results with no effort.

    Buy the No NO if you have patience and it will give you remarkable results. USE THE CREAM, use the pads and do everything the instructions tell you to do. You will soon see that your hair is going away longer and when it does grow, it’s no where near as thick or healthy. You are basically killing it slowly. Now I have hardly any growth and what is coming back is very very light and thin.

  • Renee

    I purchased the nono pro, and had a good experience with customer service, however, that was the ONLY good experience. It took three weeks for delivery, due to bad weather, according to the representatives, and when I got the nono, the large thermicon tip didn’t work, because the very flimsy wire that burns the hair was bent. I was supposed to get the hair reducing cream, but it was not included. So, I used the smaller tip instead, and started on my legs…. What a nightmare! They recommend starting on the lowest level, but that didn’t remove ANY HAIR WHATSOEVER, regardless of how many passes I made. I had to use the highest setting, and even then, I had to make about fifteen passes to remove the hair! The nono says to only make four! Even THEN, it didn’t remove ALL the hair, just cut it in half basically. So, you have to use this buffer VERY aggressively in order for it to remove your hair, which leftlegs feeling raw and very dry. It took me 4 HOURS to do both legs, but I’m a big girl, so I would imagine if I were a much smaller woman, it might have taken two hours, which is still a ridiculous amount of time! I tried my face next, thinking I’d have better luck, but the nono is not shaped well enough to fit below your nostrils, and going over my chin was a total pain. Actually, every second using the nono was a total pain! I knew the very first day that this product wasn’t for me. The hair started growing back the very next day. I called the reps, and spent thirty minutes on the phone listening to how I was doing it wrong. When I asked why it didn’t remove all the hair, why I could still feel stubble, I was told, “It won’t remove all the hair, because the wire can’t touch your skin, or else it’ll burn you.” Then why the hell did I pay 300 bucks for this thing?? I had to wait 45 days to return it in order to get return shipping waived, and it took a week to get back to them. I followed my tracking number, and the same day it was in their office, I called and they immediately put in an order for my refund, which I received two business days later. I don’t care if my hair grows back finer and more slowly, if I have to go through that experience for MONTHS before I even see results, it’s not worth it. This product would be great if you found it for 9.99 in the bargain bin at Walmart. I also never got my large thermicon tip and cream, because it was mailed to the wrong address, and if you’re not careful, the nono WILL burn your skin, especially in areas where skin is a little loose or folds, though the pain was slight. The commercial was soooo misleading! Shame on you, NONO.