Tommie Copper Reviews: Does it Work? (Feb. 2015 Update)

Tommie Copper Reviews: Does it Work? (Feb. 2015 Update)

Tommie Copper is a product line which is advertised as a way to help a variety of ailments and assist in sports performance. Today we offer our Tommie Copper review from editors and readers.

Sponsored links

About Tommie Copper

Tommie Copper is a line of compression wear founded by Tom Kallish, who claims to have created it after finding traditional products to be uncomfortable. The official website,, was registered on January 20, 2010, while – which has been used in infomercials – was registered August 5, 2011.

Tommie Copper was originally advertised with Montel Williams as its spokesman, and focused on the pain relief properties of its products. By 2014, Tommie Copper infomercials highlighting its athletic line of products could also be seen.


The chart below shows the rise in Google searches for the term “Tommie Copper.” Peaks in interest occurred in December 2013 and December 2014..

Compression Wear

The rise in popularity of compression wear has been bolstered by high-profile athletes who are often seen wearing them. While most compression wear is marketed for athletic use, Tommie Copper is presented as a product which bridges the gap between sportswear and pain relief.

Recovery and Performance

An infomercial running in late 2014 states that Tommie Copper “has gear for sports performance as well as muscle recovery and soreness relief.”

The recovery line is designed for 24-hour support, while the performance line is aimed at use during athletics. Consumers can shop based on recovery or performance, and the products offered vary in each category.

Does Tommie Copper Contain Copper?

There was some question as to whether or not Tommie Copper actually contained copper in its fabric. The 2011 version of the website’s FAQ explained that copper is used in the product:

After many months of designing and testing various fabrics, Tom invented a proprietary fabric that met his comfort requirement. At the same time, Tom had been studying the healing effects of copper on the body. He felt that the combination of compression and copper would increase the effective results of the product he was designing. By combining the benefits of this revolutionary compression fabric with patented copper infused yarn, Tom created what is now Tommie Copper’s Cu29 Compression fabric which is used in all of Tommie Copper’s Compression wear.

There was also a discussion in the 2011 FAQ about the use of copper in medicine for thousands of years, and that “Copper is an entirely natural and essential nutrient to human health.”

By early 2013, the FAQ said nothing about copper being used in the fabric or about its medicinal purposes, simply stating:

Tommie Copper compression uses multi-directional support and proprietary fabric to provide supportive relief while being comfortable enough to be worn throughout the day.

It also explained that the name Cu29 is used to help remember the Tommie Copper name, which is certainly a big change from the explanation in the 2011 FAQ.

By 2014, the description had once again changed:

Activated copper is at the core of every TC garment. By a proprietary process, it is permanently and densely infused into all performance yarns, releasing ions that provide anti-microbial protection, skin benefits and help you feel better.

In early 2013, we called Tommie Copper to verify if copper is contained in their products. A representative by the name of Brandon answered our call:

TC: Thank you for calling Tommie Copper. This is Brandon, how may I help you?
Waffles: Can you confirm that your products actually contain copper in the fabric?
TC: Yes the copper-infused nylon is used. 
Waffles: OK I was just trying to find out if there was copper used before I ordered.
TC: There is copper in the fabric, yes.  It’s not like a solid sheet of metal but it’s small particles infused in the fabric. 

We also emailed Tommie Copper in February 2013 and received the following response, detailing the materials in their fabric:

Sponsored Links
Thank you for your recent message & interest in our Tommie Copper Products! For your convenience we have provided a listing of the contents our product is composed of.

Tommie Copper Shirt contents:
56% Copper Nylon
28% Nylon
16% Lycra (Spandex)

Tommie Copper Sleeve, Shorts and Glove contents:
57% Copper Nylon
29% Nylon
14% Lycra (Spandex)

Tommie Copper Sock contents:
65% Nylon
27% Copper Nylon
5% Spandex
3% Olefin

The material used in the bands (found on ankle, calf, elbow and knee sleeves) contain: 54% polyester and 46% rubber.

It appears that by 2014, there was no longer one standard material used by all Tommie Copper products, as was the case in 2013. Consider the following examples and their materials:

  • Men’s recovery compression elbow sleeve: 86% polyester, 14% spandex
  • Women’s Performance Compression Socks: 92% nylon, 8% spandex

The website now simply states that “our proprietary fabric is copper and zinc infused.”

tommie copper review

Tommie Copper’s website in July 2014 added active wear to its catalog.

Tommie Copper Products

In early 2013, the Tommie Copper line consisted of: Elbow sleeve, knee sleeve, ankle sleeve, calf sleeve, wrist sleeve, shirts, gloves,  socks, and tights.

By mid-2014, Tommie Copper had expanded its line to include a sportswear line of compression garments called “Active Fit” which is designed for exercise. The company also added the “Compression Fit” label to their original pain relief apparel.

By late 2014, “Active Fit” was rebranded as “Performance” while “Compression Fit” was changed to as “Recovery.”

The company now offers gender-specific products for both recovery and performance products. All of the items on the website display icons which represent the purported benefits of that product. Some of those features include relief, recovery, mobility, anti-odor, SPF, game time, ergonomic, wicking, circulation, 4D compression, and comfort.

Our Tommie Copper Review

This review is based on a purchase we made in early 2013. We ordered a knee sleeve directly from the website for a cost of $24.50 plus shipping, for a total of $32. The item arrived about 10 days after we placed the order. Having worn traditional compression wear and braces in the past, our tester had a good idea of how this product compared to the alternatives. Our tester reported that traditional compression garments and braces were heavier and bulkier than Tommie Copper. He also noted that the Tommie Copper sleeve was lighter in weight and more comfortable, and did not feel as though his knee was being squeezed while wearing it. The amount of actual pain relief was comparable to a $15 knee braces found at any drug store. Considering the lighter, more comfortable fabric, you may find Tommie Copper to be a better solution than less expensive products.

Although our tester wouldn’t swear by the Tommie Copper brand alone, he did feel that compression wear in general helps alleviate minor pain, and that Tommie Copper offers a product of value in this category. Nearly a year after this article was first written, our tester still wears the Tommie Copper knee sleeve. (Read more here.)

Alternatives to Tommie Copper: Rise in Copper Products

Tommie Copper was an early entrant in what has become a growing industry of copper-infused garments. Miracle Copper Socks arrived on the market in the past year, claiming the “power of copper” helps with circulation, swelling, and pain relief. That product appears to be marketing itself in a manner similar to the original Tommie Copper advertising, that of a pain relief product.

Another competitor to Tommie Copper’s athletic wear is Copper Fit. That product has been seen in heavy rotation in television advertising, and its marketing looks remarkably similar to that of Tommie Copper.

Fake Tommie Copper Reviews

As with any product being advertised, there is always the possibility of fake affiliate reviews, especially when you see glowing endorsements which link directly to the Tommie Copper site. Fake online product reviews are rampant, and this is not unique to Tommie Copper. If you read a glowing review, following by a link to purchase the product, you may be reading an affiliate review, which should be taken with a grain of salt.

Bottom Line

We feel that Tommie Copper is a sound product in the compression wear category, and its product line has expanded drastically over the past two years. Unlike many of glowing reviews online for this product, however, we believe compression products only offer moderate pain relief, and is not the magic cure that some claim. For some people, however, moderate relief is more than sufficient.

Those with realistic expectations will probably be pleased with the product, while those believing the hype of the infomercials may be disappointed.

There have been no studies to prove that wearing copper provides any therapeutic benefits.

Your Tommie Copper Reviews

Have you used Tommie Copper compression wear? Give us your reviews below.

Updated February 20, 2015
Originally published February 2013

Sponsored links
  • Gregory771

    Compression bandages probably help in some cases. Saying “copper infused”, however, is witch doctor talk, a scam.

  • Cody

    I have had elbow tendinitis (tennis elbow) for a couple years now and was wondering if anyone has tried the elbow recovery sleeve and what the results are. I have tried many things but nothing seems to work. Any input would be great, thanks.

  • Glenn B

    I purchased a few of TC products in Jan & Feb 2014; I began using the compression shorts, fingerless gloves and wrist bands in March. April, I noticed the gloves began tearing at the seams around the thumb. I called TC and explained what was happening and was told that as the 60 day warranty had expired, a replacement could not be honored, however, I could re-order with a 10% discount…I declined. My suggestion to all would be to use the product as soon as you received them to avoid this situation.

    I have not had a problem with the shorts, wristbands or knee compression sleeves (other than the name coming off the sleeves), Other than the tear in the gloves, I find that the products I ordered truly work as designed; I’m recently retired military who has had a few surgeries on knees and wrist; TC definitely help with continuing to be able to workout.

  • Tony Carpenter

    Would you think that Tommie Copper socks would help with diabetic nerve pain?

  • Diane

    I broke my ankle 3 years ago & I have a plate on the left side if the ankle &. 6 screws on the right side if my ankle, it is my left ankle, would the tommy cooper ankle brace have any effort on my plate. & screws?

  • Joanne

    Have not used the product only considering it,however, in response to comments about company telling you to speak to your doctor,I don’t think it wise for them to give medical advise about something as serious medically as neuropothy

  • Betsy Mitchell

    I’ve struggled with chronic plantar fasciitis for over a decade. Wondering if anyone has used the socks for this condition?

  • Eleanor Baysinger

    I have had backaches for several years. I have used back braces, rubs, and physical therapy to no avail. My doctor wanted me to go to a pain clinic. I received my Tommie Copper shorts about a week ago and started wearing them right away. Lo and behold after about an hour later I realized that I had no more back pain. It is marvelous to be able to be free from pain. Thanks for this product. It is a lifesaver.

  • Dan

    I had 4 shoulder surgeries years ago. Working janitorial I was coming home and icing/massage my shoulders every night because of pain. Wearing Tommie Copper tee shirts took away the need for the nightly treatments with ice/massage. Better than just Underarmor too!

  • Tom

    I have arthritis in my hands and fingers. I ordered a pair of compression gloves. When they arrived the seam of the left glove was not complete. I reported this to the company, they were out of full finger glovesb but sent me the half finger compression gloves. They arrived about 10 days later. After the second time I wore them the seam ripped out. I spent two weeks or more from original order and out nearly $50 and have nothing to show for it.

  • Annie

    Hi am a size 8 I am actually trying to buy a few of your product for me I am in trinidad and I don’t know how to go about this in eventing purchase a product that does not fit can you be more specific about the size ranges instead of just saying small medium large etc. can you tell between what size fits who and so on thanks

  • Marty

    I’m a 55 year old male that’s been fighting rheumatoid arthritis for more than 25 yrs. All my bones and joints have been stiff and sore anytime after working out, sitting for long periods of time and playing golf even when riding in a cart for years. I have refused to take meds. I’m not believing the results I’m getting from the TC products. I’ve been wearing them for several days now with much relief of pain in my feet and knees. I really don’t understand how or why it works and I’m still not convinced it will work long term. Guess I’ll see….

  • Sherry

    I have had horrible hip pain for over 5 years. A tendon in my hip burst because of an antibiotic but after 5 specialist, injections, and mri’s the doctors said extreme inflamation. I had given up on my life, literally. I ordered tommie copper shorts. First night i actually slept through the night. Firsy day, it was 2:00 p.m. Before i realized i hadnt taken my pain medicine. Tc has given me back a piece of my life. I still have pain but it is sooo much better, that i can actually say i can live with this now.

  • Anna

    I bought the knee sleeve and the gloves for myself and the compression shorts for my husband. I have used the knee sleeve for the past week and have good results. I wasn’t able to sleep well prior to wearing the sleeve. My knee pain was bad due to swelling (runners knee). I have slept great since the first night I wore the sleeve. I am self employed and do paper crafting. In 2010 I had carpel tunnel surgery on both hands. My pain returned last year, not nearly as bad as it was before my surgery, and I had to seriously cut back on my business. Since wearing the gloves during the day and night, my hands have been functioning perfectly! I have gotten better relief from the gloves than I ever got from the splints my doctor had me wearing. I don’t know how the shorts are working since my husband keeps forgetting to wear them! He has hip issues, is an Army Reservist, and works installing security systems 12 hours a day so I’m hoping he will get some relief wearing the shorts. I will be buying the compression socks soon. We are flying to South America and they will come in handy for the long trip.

  • Denny

    I’ve been a Pro golfer for many years, 40+ to be exact all the twisting and bad shot impact has taken a toll on my right side joints. Hip, Wrist and Elbow. I visited a Sports Dr. and was diagnosed with beginning stages of Osteoarthritis and began the injections of Supartz in the Knee and Synvisc in the Elbow and Wrist along with high powered laser treatments twice a week.

    For the first 3 weeks I saw moderate improvement using the Dr. provided lycra support products – even the Dr. acknowledged Tommie Copper may be a better option but she couldn’t recommend or prescribe the products. I purchased the products on my own, did like most held them up to a bright light to see the copper and then put them on anyway.
    I can honestly say they make a difference over plain lycra. I experienced dull pain, mild swelling and just an overall level of discomfort that never went away.
    The product does make a difference, it’s not earth shattering, life changing jump on the Sofa elation – (Oprah – Tom Cruise Reference) but it does make a difference and I find myself wearing them daily.

    I can now tell when I haven’t had them on, and shockingly prefer to wear them rather than not.

    It’s been 3 months and the product is wearing fine, cleans up nicely in the laundry -although you have to go find them hiding in the Jeans Legs, so just wash them with the Towels.



  • Daniel Keating

    If the the commercial is any sign of usefullness they can’t even keep the injuries straight the woman walking up the stairs has her knee brace on the wrong leg she had it on her left leg at first. Makes any claims hard to believe when the actors and directors of the commercial have no sence of continuity.

  • Rick

    From reading your review and some of the comments, I’m wondering did you try multiple sizes? You said you didn’t feel like your knee was being squeezed. Another commenter complained “it gave little to no compression and did not reduce pain or swelling”. Could you comment on whether a smaller size might be more effective.

  • Dawn

    I was originally scheduled for total knee replacement mid December. I have severe arthritis as well as torn meniscus and bone on bone in both knees. I was in some degree of pain with nearly every step I took, especially going upstairs. I heard about Tommy Copper, read a number of reviews and figured it couldn’t hurt to try. I have been switching off knee sleeves (about to order another) wearing the knee where I experience the least discomfort at night and the other knee during the day nearly every day now. The sleeves are so comfortable I forget I have them on and wear a calf sleeve occasionally. I’m about to order another knee sleeve! I’ve postponed my knee replacement twice because either the last cortisone shot I got is lasting way longer than the previous one did or the Tommy Copper is helping, along with a great chiropractor I’ve begun seeing. She noticed my knee sleeve one day and asked how I like it. I said I couldn’t be positive but that it seemed to be helping. She said she had other clients that swear by them. This chiropractor also prescribed some very expensive shoes, Asics) for me to wear (all the time) which have given me more stability in walking. I’ve been able to cut my prescription anti-inflammatory medication in half. I also take several natural anti-inflammatory products (ginger, Turmeric, glucosamine, etc.) but have been doing that for years. I’m grateful for the decrease in my discomfort and can’t help but feel that the Tommy Copper is at least partially responsible, in my case at least.

  • Z

    If you return something for a refund. You might as well not look for one. This company will tell you a refund was processed and when you check the time frame when you are suppose to receive it, it doesn’t happen, if you made a credit card or bank payment you have to file a dispute in order to get your money back. If not you will get a run-around and not get anything back!

  • Drew

    At 43 years old, I have suffered from knee joint pain for the past 7 years. I’ve been active in sports all my life and have a poor history of genetics with parents who both suffer from joint pain and knee replacements. After surgery on both knees, I resorted to only doing “low-impact” fitness exercise. I wanted to try the Insanity workout challenge but was concerned I would not be able to complete the program with my bad knees. I went searching online in July of 2012 and found information on Tommie Copper knee sleeves. I decided it was worth the $25 to try the product. I sit here today writing this review after completing the Insanity workout challenge TWO times. This product has had amazing results for me. I am amazed by what I can do now with no pain or discomfort during or after the workout. I recently purchased the compression long sleeve shirt and running shorts. The cost of the products is well worth the investment for me.

  • Nancy

    I have had a problem with my right hand since October last year. When I wake up my fingers won’t move until several attempts. When they do move they usually snap open. I understand they call this trigger finger. I first tried wrapping my hand with an ace bandage and slept with it on. It didn’t do anything but I did feel worse. I also tried sleeping with my driving glove on and had the same results. I tried some well known pills for swollen joint relief. They seemed to work but I don’t want to depend on pills. I saw the infomercial for Tommie Copper. I hate infomercials and Montel Williams seems to be involved in a few things so I ignored it. The next day I was so upset with my pain that I thought I would look on the internet to see what real people say (not working for Tommie Copper). I found a few forums and it seemed that those that tried Tommie Copper has good results. I bout the gloves for about $35 and I noticed a difference the first day, It has been about a week now and I sleep with the on. I take them off when I wake up and I am good the whole day. If I wake up in the middle of the night I always check my fingers and they work fine with no pain. I am sold.

  • Fran1

    I bought a knee support for myself and one for my son. We both enjoy the pain relief afforded by wearing the Tommie Copper. They are both about a year and a half old now, and we don’t use them daily, however they’re still in fine shape after many washings.

    Recently, I purchased the gloves. The quality has greatly diminished. The stitching is poor, and some thread came undone when I first put the glove on my hand. I was inside the size range by 3/4 inch, so there is really no excuse. I notice pilling on the inside of the garment, like it had been previously washed. The effect is pain relief, and the part that came unstitched is in the wrist, so I can sew it together. I simply don’t think it’s worth what they’re charging if it’s pilled and I have to sew.

    I tried to call about an exchange, rather than simply sending it back and waited more than 25 minutes, still no answer.

  • Remee

    I got the knee support because I do house cleaning part-time and was developing knee pain. It definitely seems to help and is very comfortable. I’m trying the elbow support next, as that is a much used joint from my cleaning and I get a lot of elbow pain. I’ll write another review when I get it and let everyone know the results!

  • L Davidson

    I purchased 2 of the knee sleeves on Nov. 10th – my credit card was charged the same day. I have not received any product as of yet – nor is there any record at Tommie Copper that I placed an order. I called their customer service line – disgusting – horrible customer service. I spoke with Lindsay whom then spoke with her supervisor – Amy but I wasn’t allowed to speak with ‘Amy’. Extremely rude.
    I tried to email them my problem – the web page does not work and tells you to reload — so did that too – still the same message. So now I have to supply them with proof they charged my credit card. Not sure if this is really a reputable company that I would order from again after I get my money back. Very strange – they are telling my credit card company made a mistake and billed me — certainly couldn’t have been them because there is no order. Really???!!!

  • waffles

    Hi Brenda, we are not affiliated with Tommie Copper. This is merely a review of the product.

  • Tom Scammer

    The schills posting here need to go back to school and learn how to not be such obvious schills.

    • waffles

      We’re glad you found us.

      We do our best to weed out fake comments, but when in doubt we’ll let them go through. We can, however, assure you that our evaluation on Tommie Copper is legitimate. We were moderately pleased with it, but didn’t feel it was a comprehensive solution.

  • Stephanie

    I sent for the ankle sleeves about a 8 months ago. I don’t know if its a mind over matter kind of thing, but I feel great. I sleep in them and wear them daily (outside of washing them) and I can tell you that they have made quite a difference. I have flat feet, swollen ankles and the pain I would experience at night made it unbearable for me to enjoy a good night’s sleep. I love them!

  • Mr. T

    I am in my early 60’s and purchased the Tommie copper short sleeve compression shirt as I thought it might help my back from getting sore while working around the house and especially washing the car due to a lot of bending and twisting. I ordered as per the sizing info, took the proper measurements and confirmed the size with a customer service rep. before purchasing as I wanted to ensure the right fit. It felt like it held me in and my 7 yr. old Granddaughter called it my skinny shirt. I wore it one day this summer while mowing the lawn, edging, and weed wacking about three hours total. Well needless to say I got very sweaty and the shirt was drenched. I was home alone and could not get the shirt over my head as it felt glued to my body. I pulled it up as far as I could and then pulled from the neck straight up with all my strength, I always had very strong arms and it was all I could do to get it off. Now I am suffering from very bad shoulder pain and have had to go to an orthopaedic specialist who took Xrays and gave me a cortisone shot but to no avail. Had to go back and now need an MRI and there is a strong possibility I may need surgery. I can’t believe this. It is mostly my left shoulder and somewhat in my right but I am left handed so I have limited use of my left arm and can’t sleep at night because I am a side sleeper and sleep on my left side. I have been really stressed over this as I never had a problem with my shoulder before and am nervous that my arm is shot. Just wondering if anyone has experienced the same difficulty in removing a sweaty compression shirt. I can’t possibly be the only one.

  • Dennis Lindberg

    I received two Tommie copper knee sleeves today. I find this hard to believe and I am trying to ascertain whether I am experiencing a placebo effect or if the pain relief is real. I have had several knee surgeries and one of my knees finally had to be replaced. I have experienced a lot of pain in both knees recently have not been able to stop the pain with
    either medication or my litany of knee braces. I have been wearing the Tommie Copper knee sleeves for about eight hours and the results seem to be quite remarkable. I don’t know if my brain is playing “wishful thinking” games on me or if these things really work.
    Only time will tell I guess but day one is a success.

    • Richard Spillane

      Dennis, I sure hope it is not in your head as I just ordered two knee sleeves and do surely hope they work.

  • Connie Lucio

    I have Dupuytren’s Constricture in my hands and had the surgery a year ago. After healing the palm was very tender and constantly in pain. I tried yoga gloves and rubber gloves and leather gloves but none helped. Than I found Tommie Copper. Most of the pain is completely gone and the tenderness has gone. As they had to cut up into the fingers, my little finger is still in pain but has improved. I will never be without Tommie Coppers on my hand. The left hand has been starting the same process but slower. I wear a glove on it too at night only and the glove seems to be slowing the process. I think Tommie Copper is wonderful. Connie


More in Reviews

kitty shack website 2015

Kitty Shack Reviews: Do Cats Love it?

James WhiteJuly 15, 2015
Perricone Cold Plasma Sub-D Website Review Screenshot

Perricone’s Cold Plasma Sub-D Reviews

wafflesJuly 14, 2015
tummy tuck belt review

Tummy Tuck Belt Reviews 2015: Does it Work?

wafflesJuly 11, 2015
nono pro website november 2014

NoNo Pro Review: Does it Really Work? (June 2015 Update)

wafflesJune 4, 2015
balloon bonanza website 2015

Balloon Bonanza Reviews: Do Kids Love It?

James WhiteMay 3, 2015
Meaningful Beauty

Meaningful Beauty Reviews: Does it Really Work? (May 2015 Update)

wafflesMay 1, 2015
genie hour glass website

Genie Hour Glass Reviews: Does it Work?

wafflesApril 22, 2015
hurrycane website

HurryCane Reviews 2015: Does it Work?

wafflesApril 17, 2015